Thursday, March 16, 2023

History Of Montour County By Battle

====================
HISTORY OF MONTOUR COUNTY
From
"The History of Columbia and Montour Counties"
Battle, 1887
================================

MONTOUR COUNTY
Chapter XV
ANTHONY TOWNSHIP

This was formed in 1849 and named in honor of Judge ANTHONY, who was at that time president judge of the courts in the district. Prior to this it was a part of Derry Township. It is connected with the earliest history of Montour County chiefly through the fact that the old Derry Church, in the division of that old township, fell to the territory of Anthony, and is now within its territorial limits. The first church meetings held here in the past century were under two white oak trees, and which are still standing, and in some respects are now associated in the minds of the descendants of these pioneer Christian men and women, after the manner of the Charter Oak tree of this State. For some years church meetings were held under the spreading branches of these two oak trees. In 1802 a little log church was put up a short distance below the site of the present church building. It had only a dirt floor, was covered with branches of trees and grass and leaves, and on the ground in the center of the structure was built a fire in extreme weather. This log house had a gallery (evidently a space-saving device) and the rough stairway to this was on the outside of the building. A high pulpit was on one side, and just below and in front of this was a boarded up box for the choir. Everything about it was of the olden time that has passed away. Its attendants were scattered over a wide extent of the country. They came from not only the present county boundary limits, but from what is now Columbia County, and from Northumberland, Luzerne and Lycoming Counties.

Among the prominent organizers of this first church were William McVICKAR and Thomas ADAMS; both were the first elders. The first Presbyterian minister who preached under the trees was Father DUNHAM, as he was universally called. The first regular pastor was Rev. John B. PATTERSON, who filled the place of pastor, father and friend to the little flock for forty-one years. He died in 1843 and was buried in the Derry Cemetery. He was followed by Rev. John H. RITTENHOUSE, who came from his native county, near Milton, to take charge. He, soon after being installed, commenced the agitation of the subject of a new building. The building was erected to the great joy of the minister and people. In 1852 he dropped dead while standing in front of the new church that the people were then assembling to hear him dedicate in Washingtonville. He was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. John THOMAS, and he in turn by Rev. John JOHNSON, and he by the present pastor, Rev. G. A. MARR, who resides in Northumberland County. These were all the regular pastors of this church, but there were a number of supplies, some of whom filled the pulpit for a long periods. The present elders are Andrew BRITTAIN, W. S. POLLOCK, J. W. LOWREY and W. C. McVICKAR; the trustees: D. M. SHEEP, James RUSSELL, A. C. DILDINE. Present membership, seventy-five. W. C. McVICKAR is superintendent of the Sunday-school. The old historic church was torn down (which is now to be regretted) to be replaced by the present building, which was erected and dedicated in 1846.

Col. Robert CLARK, the eminent patriot and soldier of the Revolutionary war, came to what is now this township and settled in 1792. He won and wore his eagles in the front ranks in the war for independence. He was born in Dauphin County and there grew to manhood. He was present at the sighing of the Declaration of Independence. He purchased about 600 acres of land which is now the property of Charles MOWREY, just west of the McVICKAR farm. Col. CLARK's wife was Sallie HUTCHINSON. They both lie buried in the Derry graveyard. Their children, of whom there were seven, are all dead. Their son Robert came to what is now Montour County, with his parents, when but fourteen years old, in the year 1778. He married Jane WILSON, born in 1780. They had eight children. He died in June, 1868, and she died in 1863. They were also buried in Derry Cemetery.

White Hall - The first settler here was John FRUIT. He settled here in the latter part of the last century--some believe that it was in the year 1800. He was a native of Ireland. He opened a store-room in his dwelling soon after he came, and afterward put up a store-room; this he built on property now belonging to Henry C. MONROE. It was a small frame structure, and in it he kept the usual variety to be found in a country store. He sold the store in 1810 to John Frederick DERR who carried it on alone until 1841, when he sold an interest to William McBRIDE. Mr. DERR died in 1853, when Mr. McBRIDE continued to conduct the establishment until 1866 assisted by his son, J. S. McBRIDE, now the proprietor The stock was removed to the present brick structure in 1864. ELY & MOYER were merchants in this place at an early day. In 1841 Neal McCOY started a store which he carried on about six years. The place was called at that day "Fruitstown." The mail was carried by a circuitous route from Catawissa to this place. It was a pony mail, and the first mail boy on the route was Jacob DYER. This postoffice was established in 1820. The postmaster succeeding Mr. BIDDLE was John F. DERR. He remained in the office until 1855, when William McBRIDE became postmaster. The latter remained until 1862, and then John CRAWFORD was installed. He was succeeded by his son, G. W. CRAWFORD, and in turn he was succeeded by the present postmaster, J. S. McBRIDE.

Daniel DILDINE, an Irishman, opened the first blacksmith shop. He was one of the early settlers of the place. The first hotel or "entertainment for man and beast," was the Red House Hotel, by Andrew SCHOOLEY. It occupied the ground and house where the present brick store stands. The hotel was torn down to make room for the store building. David ELY succeeded Mr. SCHOOLEY in the hotel. The latter was succeeded by Ferdinand RITTER, a native of Berks County. Mr. RITTER built the present White Hall Hotel in 1818. It was rebuilt in 1849-50.

The White Hall Baptist Church was erected in 1858 at a cost of about $1,500. The most active parties in raising the money for the church were William McBRIDE, Effie DERR and A. HOLDEN. But they were liberally aided by all the residents in that vicinity. Andrew F. SHANAFELT was the first preacher. He made his residence in this vicinity. He removed from here to Old Chester where he died. The first officers of the church were William McBRIDE and George W. SUPLEE, deacons, and Aid HOLDEN and William McBRIDE, trustees. The present officers are John CREAMER and William McBRIDE. The Sunday-school superintendent is John CREAMER, and the attendance about fifty.

The first school here was taught in 1818 by John REA in a frame building on the site of the present schoolhouse. The building was torn down in 1841. The present one is a brick building.

The old historic Derry Presbyterian Church is situated about one mile from White Hall. The first church building was of nicely hewn pine logs. It was torn down late in "the forties" and the present frame structure was put up.

There is a Baptist Church in the place. A frame building near the village is also the Primitive Methodist Episcopal Church.
Among the old families of this village are the CAREYS. John CAREY, now residing there, was born in the place. He is over seventy-five years of age.

Exchange - St. James Episcopal Church is located here. The first regular pastor was Rev. Milton LIGHTNER. At first services were held in what was known as the Baptist schoolhouse. Mr. LIGHTNER's first visit to the place was to preach at the funeral of Stephen ELLIS--the first of that name to settle here and one of the early settlers in this township. The regular services began in 1843, and were held regularly. When Stephen ELLIS died he left a verbal will giving $200 toward the building of the church, "should there ever be a disposition to erect such a building." The erection of the church was commenced in 1848 on land purchased for that purpose. The corner-stone was laid by Bishop Alonzo POTTER, and that year it was completed and dedicated by the same bishop, assisted by Rev. Milton LIGHTNER and others. The prominent contributors were the estate of Stephen ELLIS, William ELLIS, Stephen ELLIS (son of Stephen ELLIS, deceased, and who now resides in Exchange), Catharine ELLIS and Jane, William, Isabella, Ellen and John C. ELLIS, and Milton LIGHTNER and Amos HEACOCK.

Rev. Milton LIGHTNER served the congregation about ten years, and was succeeded by Rev. Edwin LIGHTNER, who served the congregation from Danville. He was succeeded by Rev. ELSEGOOD, and the ministers in charge, in the order following were Revs. FURY, William PAGE, Albra WADLEIGH, Rollin H. BROWN, Abram P. BRUSH, Baldy LIGHTNER (son of the first of that name), Frank Duncan JADOW, Frank CANFIELD, William JOHNSON, David L. FLEMING, the present pastor, who is located in Muncy. The cost of the church building was over $1,300. The first officers were William ELLIS, Stephen ELLIS, John C. ELLIS and Amos HEACOCK, vestrymen; William ELLIS and Amos HEACOCK, wardens. The present officers are Charles REEDER, William ELLIS, John CALDWELL, John D. ELLIS, Robt. CALDWELL and Stephen C. ELLIS, vestrymen, and Charles REEDER, senior warden, and S. C. ELLIS, junior.

The present Exchange Hall and school was built in 1874, and opened to the public and as a school that year. It was erected at a cost of $1,300. The building committee was Stephen C. ELLIS, Patrick DENNIN and Dr. McHENRY. The first school-teacher in the building was Augustus TRUCKMILLER. This hall is occupied by the Odd Fellows and by the Patrons of Husbandry. The building is the property of twenty-eight stockholders, who joined together in its construction. The first school in Church Hill District, No. 6, was built in 1849. That building was torn down and the present house erected in 1870, in which Miss STINE is the teacher.

Walter JOHNSTON, father of William C. JOHNSTON, the clerk and recorder of the county, was the first hotel-keeper in Exchange--about 1839. He left there in 1840 and went to Jerseytown. Among the early settlers in this place was William CRAIG. The families of John and Alexander CRAIG are still in the place. James McKEE was another early settler. John BULL kept a hotel on the top of the hill, but his family are gone years ago. The house where he kept his hotel is still standing, though it has been closed as a place of entertainment for years. One of the old families living above the hill was that of Patrick MONTAGUE. David WILSON is now a man over eighty years of age; was among the early settlers. Charles CLARK (now a very old man) and family lived north of Exchange. His wife was a DERR. He opened the first store in Exchange, built his storeroom in 1838 and for a time boarded at Johnston's Hotel.

Exchange Lodge, No. 898, I. O. O. F., has a membership of thirty-eight. Exchange was named about 1840. The Crownover mill and a few clustering houses were then there. There was an ancient log schoolhouse across the creek from the place. The first brick house in the place, now owned by Patrick DINNEN, was built by John CALDWELL. It is now a very old house. John CALDWELL married a daughter of James POLLOCK, another family of the earliest settlers. The first postmaster in the village was Gersham BIDDLE.

Chapter XVI
COOPER TOWNSHIP

This is one of the small townships of the county. Its south base rests on the river, and its east line to its north limit follows up the line dividing the counties of Montour and Columbia. The entire township is rough and hilly, and but sparse agricultural spots in it. There are very few even narrow valleys, and yet there is some very good agricultural land. Its most valuable part is its mineral deposits. Here is much valuable iron ore yet to be dug, and its limestone is valuable. Just north of Grovania are the limestone kilns, started some years ago, and promised at one time to become extensive and valuable, but the stoppage of the Grove iron-mills at Danville caused a cessation of the lime kilns, and they have lain idle awaiting the revival of the iron manufactory, when they will become of great value and here will some time again be much activity. Two railroads pass from east to west through this township--the Catawissa and the D. L. & W. Roads.

Grovania is the only village or postoffice in the township--the village here consisting of the name, the store and residence. The place was made a station on the railroad soon after its completion, and designated as a postoffice. It was named in honor of the Grove Bros., of Danville. Near it is a Lutheran Church--St. James--and a cemetery. The church is sometimes supplied from Catawissa and sometimes from Danville. St. Peter's Union Church is on the opposite side of the township. This is also a Lutheran Church, and is supplied in the same manner as is St. James, named above. The place where this latter church is located is known as Ridgeville, situated on the old stage road, but whose hopes departed when the railroad was built south of it and superseded the old coach. It once had a tavern with "accommodations for man and beast." Our information is that the earliest settlers in what is now Cooper Township, were the KRUMs. There is yet a number of the descendants of this family still in the township. Some suppose, on what is apparently good authority, too, that the FOUSTs were the early comers to this part of the county. Here again we find the CROMLEYs, whose descendants are still living in the neighborhood, where they first settled.

Chapter XVII
DERRY TOWNSHIP
AND BOROUGH OF WASHINGTONVILLE

This is one of the oldest townships and settlements in the county. The earliest settler in what is now the territory of this township was a Mr. BRITTAIN. One of his sons is Nathaniel BRITTAIN, now aged eighty years, and is still living on the old family place. He has in his possession title papers and other evidences that establish the fact. Among other very early settlers was Jacob SHULTZ, who settled in what is now Limestoneville in 1790; after staying there one year he removed to Derry Township and settled on the place now occupied by his grandson, J. K. SHULTZ, where he died in 1804; he was buried in the Derry Church graveyard. In the year mentioned an epidemic of typhoid fever prevailed extensively and carried off a number of the people. Brady's Fort (generally printed in the State histories as "Boyle's Fort") was erected toward the latter part of the Revolutionary war. It was named after the two brothers Col. Sam. and Hugh Brady, who were prominent soldiers in the war for independence. Mathew CALVIN was an early settler in Washingtonville. The family and descendants are now gone. He built the old frame mill in the town. It was twice burned down and as often rebuilt and the last building is still standing. Joseph HUTCHINSON settled near Washingtonville at an early day.

William McCORMICK, father of Hon. James McCORMICK of Danville, and William SHAW and family were early settlers in Derry. Hon. James McCORMICK was born there in 1818. He married Margaret SHAW, daughter of the above named William SHAW.

John STEINMAN built a saw-mill in 1812, about half a mile above Mr. BILLMEYER's. A turning-lathe is now on the property occupied by the mill.

John AUTEN built a saw-mill in 1812 and in 1814 he built a grist-mill and house. The grist-mill has long since been entirely gone--the saw-mill is still on the same spot. One of the earliest settlers near Mr. BILLMEYER's was John WILSON. He was a prosperous farmer and died on the place where he had made his improvement. Stephen ELLIS and his wife Mary (CUNNINGHAM) ELLIS of Donegal, Ireland, were of the early settlers in this township. Their son Stephen was born in this county May 15, 1807.

Of the earliest ministers of the church was the famous pioneer preacher, Rev. J. B. PATTERSON of the Presbyterian Church. He was stationed at Washingtonville and had charge of the Derry Church and the Washingtonville Church, the latter being both the first log schoolhouse and church combined in this part of the county. Mr. PATTERSON died in Washingtonville, and so deeply had he impressed the purity and excellence of his character upon the people, that his memory now is warmly cherished and is yet "a name to conjure by" among the descendants of his old-time parishioners. His descendants are a son and daughter now living in the township where he died. The present Presbyterian brick church in Washingtonville is a modern building erected about twenty years ago, and is the successor in regular line of the primitive little log church, as that first building had succeeded the inviting widespread branches of "God's first temples."

Washingtonville and Danville constitute the two boroughs of Montour County, and they also mark the two oldest settlements in it. It was only incorporated into a borough April 28, 1870, the first officers being H. C. SNYDER, burgess, and Joseph B. SEIDEL, Andrew C. ELLIS, James A. MILLER, councilmen. The present officers are Charles MOWREY, burgess; Charles SHIRES, clerk; John ANDY, A. C. COURSON and J. B. SEIDEL, councilmen; J. D. GEIGER, postmaster.

A settlement was made here just prior to the breaking out of the war for independence. The BOSLEY water grist and saw-mill had been built prior to 1788. It stood just opposite where the present mill stands. It was burned down in 1826. It was the circumstance of this mill and a few settlements about it, that created Brady's fort, or block-house with port holes and for a while a small howitzer cannon mounted on it, where the people fled at times from the threatened approach of roving savage bands. In the histories of the State this is spoken of as "Boyle's Fort." This is an evident mistake as it was built and named for the two Revolutionary heroes, Hugh and Sam. BRADY, brothers. In 1788, as mentioned elsewhere, great suffering threatened the people in the way of famine. Philip MAUS bought a quantity of grain at the time, of John Montgomery, of Paradise farm and delivered it at the mill. At this early day the place was called Washington. From old papers in the possession of Philip F. MAUS, we learn that in 1778 Samuel SMITH, Adam HELPLEMAN, and Robert ROGERS were some of the parties then living in the vicinity of the place, and that they got some of the wheat he had bought from Paradise farm. Samuel HUTCHINSON purchased the mill of BOSLEY. He was a leading man of the early times, and was principal owner of the village. He was succeeded in the mill by his son-in-law, Mathew CALVIN. He ran the mill successfully for a number of years, and at the same time owned and managed a large farm in the immediate vicinity. He was a strong, intelligent and well educated man; a free and independent thinker on all subjects, but more especially on religion. He donated, however, the ground for the frame Presbyterian Church built in 1832. His son Samuel taught school in Washingtonville at an early day; he removed to Huntington County, became a lawyer and was elected to Congress. Before going to Congress he had been elected and served as judge. Mathew CALVIN was the first postmaster in Washingtonville. Dr. NEWCOMBE was the first physician to locate in the village. Just before the Revolutionary war Mr. ALLEN had built and opened the first hotel in the place. Mr. ALLEN's successor in the hotel was Thomas BUSKIRK. The first blacksmith was Robert WALKER. He was a good workman. He invented and made the once celebrated Walker plow. He was full of industry and enterprise and built finally a factory and foundry. In his old age he removed to Lancaster where he died.

Three churches were built in Washingtonville--the Presbyterian, Lutheran and Methodist. For many years the people worshipped at the old Derry Church, four and a half miles northeast of Washingtonville, where the celebrated Rev. John B. PATTERSON ministered for a long time, the particulars of whom are fully given elsewhere. He went from Danville to Washingtonville in 1798, purchased and settled upon the old homestead farm about a mile east of the village where his son and daughter now reside. The early members of this the oldest church in this part of the county were James BIGGINS, Col. Robert CLARK, the eminent Revolutionary soldier, William McCORMICK, James BARBER, Thomas BARBER, Andrew SHEEP, Samuel BRITTAIN, Joseph HENDERSON, James LOWRIEE, Joseph HENDERSHOT, Gersham BIDDLE, James POLLOCK, Thomas MOREHEAD, John CARR, John ALLEN, James C. SPROUL, Thomas ADAM, James McVICKAR, John RUSSELL, John CRAIG, William PEGG, Samuel HUTCHINSON, Charles McKEE, James SIMINGTON, Robert SHEARER, Thomas FOSTER, Thomas ROBINSON, John BLEE, and Mr. McHORD. These all worshipped at the old Derry Church until 1832, when a building was put up in Washingtonville.

The first store in the place was kept by Nathaniel SPENCE. His successor was William McCORMICK. The latter was one of the prominent men of his day, a native of Ireland.

There is some dispute now as to where the old fort or block-house stood. Some think it stood in the valley just across the creek from the borough, while others contend it stood just back of Front Street, between Church and Water Streets.

The first schoolhouse was built in the last century soon after the close of the war. It was a square pen of unhewn logs of uneven length, a log taken out of three sides for windows. It stood on the street opposite to where John HEDDEN resides. Early in this century Washingtonville was quite an important place; it was on the mail stage route through the county. In 1838 it had as many as four hotels and four stores. The leading business men at that time were James and David McCORMICK, sons of William McCORMICK; Neal McCOY, son of Robert, and the firm of GRIM, DERR & DYE. Aaron MOSER now keeps the hotel that is among the old improvements of the place.

Derry Lodge, No. 759, I. O. O. F., has a membership of twenty-eight.

Chapter XVIII
LIBERTY TOWNSHIP

Col. Thomas STRAWBRIDGE, of Chester County, Penn., was probably among the very first in what is now Liberty Township. He was a conspicuous Revolutionary soldier; a man of eminent patriotism as a citizen, and a Rupert in war. His coming to this part of the State was contemporary with that of Gen. William MONTGOMERY, whose sister, Margaret, he had married in Philadelphia. Col. Thomas STRAWBRIDGE and wife, Margaret, had four children. Their son James married Mary DALE, and of the issue of this marriage is Dr. James Dale STRAWBRIDGE, of Danville. For a full genealogy of this family see the biography of Dr. STRAWBRIDGE in this book. Col. Thomas STRAWBRIDGE and his brother-in-law, Gen. William MONTGOMERY, were among the early settlers in this portion of the State and prominent and central figures. They established almost all the first commercial and manufacturing enterprises; they filled the prominent public offices, and yet were not politicians nor place seekers. If the necessities of their home people required their presence, they were ever ready to resign office and come home, as did Gen. Montgomery when in Congress. Col. Thomas STRAWBRIDGE was judge of the courts of Northumberland County in 1795. He established a tannery in Liberty Township, the first thing of the kind in this part of the State.

The McWILLIAMSes were among the earliest families who settled in what is Liberty Township--Robert McWILLIAMS his three sons, Hugh, John, Robert, and daughter, Jane, who had married Robert CURRY in Ireland. The McWILLIAMSes bought land in 1771, which was the family homestead, near Mooresburg. at the time they came there there was a family named MOORE living where Mooresburg now stands. The sixth generation of the first Robert McWILLIAMS who came here is now represented in the children of Dr. R. S. SIMINGTON of Danville, traced as follows: The eldest son of Robert McWILLIAMS, Sr., was Hugh, whose son was Robert No. 2, and his son was Hugh No. 2, and the last named was the father of Mrs. Dr. Robert S. SIMINGTON, and hence her children: Gertrude, born November 13, 1855, and married Calvin LEINBACH, January 15, 1885; Harriet Elizabeth, born October 11, 1857, and Anna Jean, born June 30, 1867, are the living sixth generation from the first Robert McWILLIAMS. The wife of Robert McWILLIAMS was Jean ORR. They were married in Scotland and removed to the North of Ireland prior to coming to this country. They stopped at first in Chester county, and the wife died a short time before they moved to this place. Hugh was killed by the Indians in 1775. His only son, named Robert, was six months old at his father's death. He was born in July, 1775.

Robert McWILLIAMS' mother was Rebecca DUNWOODY, who had married Hugh about the year 1774. Robert married his relative, Jane CURRY, in May, 1798. She was a daughter of the Robert CURRY who was massacred by the Indians. Her mother was Jean McWILLIAMS CURRY. Some of the children of this marriage were Hugh, born April 18, 1799, died in 1877, John, Mary and Jean. This Hugh McWILLIAMS married Rebecca LEMON April 13, 1830. She was the daughter of James and Rachel LEMON, born in Point Township, Northumberland County. Their children were Harriet, born January 26, 1831, married to Gilbert VORIS March 14, 1854; Regina Jane, born July 3, 1833, married Dr. Robert S. SIMINGTON December 28, 1854, both of Liberty Township, and Anna Rebecca who married January 23, 1861, F. K. HAIN, general manager of the New York elevated railroads. Thus both sides of the house, the McWILLIAMSes and CURRYs, had been sufferers from the murderous Indians. Jane CURRY, who was born February 8, 1773, was the first white child born in this section of the country, between the north and west forks of the Susquehanna River.

Among the earliest records pertaining to this township is the deed from the Penns in 1795 of 329 1/2 acres of land. Thomas J. CLARK now resides on this land, northwest of Mooresburg. The title to this property remained in the church until 1806 and was then sold to Robert FINNEY, where he made his improvement and resided until his death in 1839. FINNEY was in his day a noted character and contributed his full quota to the people's enjoyment by his many eccentricities. He was a harmless old bachelor who lived by himself after the death of his mother and sisters, noted for his hard work, year in and year out, and his pinching economy. He was odd in everything, dress, manners and habits. He purchased the farm and paid for it in threshing wheat with the old flail--a long hickory pole, cut and bent, with the heavy end so as to pound the sheaf of wheat and thus thresh it out. He lived in the old out-building on the place, and in the severest winter weather would take what little stock he had into the building with himself, and often in the dead of winter he carried straw from Danville to his place to feed his kine.

Among the early settlers are the present descendants of the BILLMEYERs. This was a large and influential family noted for their frugality, prosperity and enterprise as farmers. John STEINMAN built a saw-mill about half a mile above BILLMEYERs, in 1812. There is now a turning-lathe on the old mill property. John AUTEN built a saw-mill also in 1812, and in 1814 he added to his saw-mill a grist-mill. The lumber for his house and grist-mill was cut at his own saw-mill, and these buildings were erected as soon as he could thus secure the lumber. The grist-mill was worn out and torn down. The saw-mill still stands in the shape of a modern built mill as a successor to the first one. These two saw-mills and the grist-mill were the only ones in this part of the county at that time, and here for many years the people in the vicinity had their grain ground and their lumber cut.

John WILSON purchased land adjoining the BILLMEYER place. He improved about 175 acres and on this farm made his residence until he died. In the olden time every neighborhood imperatively needed a weaver to weave the cloth from wool and flax for wearing apparel for the people--the hatter, the weaver and the itinerant shoemaker were the only sources of supply for the average person's clothes of that day of rural simplicity and frugality. The entire scheme of social economy is now wholly changed--a change wrought mostly by the wonderful mechanical inventions and appliances of the American people. There are but few of the industries now carried on in which machinery has not been introduced whereby one man can do the work of from seven to ten men, and in no occupation has greater improvement been made than in that of weaving, and yet we note the singular fact that wearing apparel is much more expensive now than it was three-quarters of a century ago. The spinning jenny and the cotton-gins have taken away much the larger proportion of the time and toil upon each yard of cloth, as compared with half a century ago. These remarks are parenthetical to the fact that in the early times George WAGNER, a weaver, located in the township. After working here some years he removed to Limestone, and stopping there some time he again removed, this time to Washingtonville, where he remained until he died about 1862. Of this family there were a number of children. James and John McMAHAN were of the first settlers. These two brothers were noted Revolutionary soldiers, as were the two BILLMEYER brothers, George and Martin. The McHAHANS settled just west of Mooresburg. Another family that to this day are closely allied with the history of this part of the county, the SIMINGTONs, sent John and Peter to the war of 1812-15. This particular family of the BILLMEYERs settled in the Chillisquaque. One of that name is now living in the house built by his great-grandfather.

The oldest church in the northwest part of the county is the Chillisquaque Church. It is still a church regularly offering its ministrations to the living and its hopes and consolations for the dead. Their present building was erected in the early "fifties." The minister in attendance is Rev. H. G. FINNEY, who also serves at Mooresburg. The church at the latter place was erected about forty years ago.

Mooresburg was laid out in 1806 by Stephen MOORE, one of a noted family who came to Pennsylvania that year. The town plat originally embraced thirteen acres of ground, and the first house erected as a residence by Mr. MOORE. John, Joseph and Andrew MOORE were three brothers who came to this county in the ship "Welcome" in company with William Penn in 1682. They were members of the society of Friends. Stephen MOORE was a grandson of the John MOORE mentioned above, whose family had settled near Pennington, N. J. Stephen was born in 1759 and died in Mooresburg, January 20, 1813. He had married Parthenia, daughter of Andrew YOUNG. She was born in 1760 and died in 1830. Their issue were ten children, namely: Lydia, Abner, Asa, Samuel, John, Hannah, Burrows, Charles M., Andrew and Edward S. The brothers of Stephen MOORE were Samuel and Edward, and his sister's name was Hannah. John MOORE married Elizabeth DONALDSON of Danville. The only descendants of Stephen MOORE now here are Mrs. Anna A. (MOORE) BIDDLE, the daughter of John MOORE and granddaughter of Stephen, and the children of William BIDDLE, deceased. William BIDDLE and Miss Anna A. MOORE were married December 6, 1860. Messrs. MOORE and BIDDLE lived in Danville and started the first foundry in the town. This they carried on successfully for many years. Mr. BIDDLE was a relative of Nicholas BIDDLE on one side, and was told he was one of the heirs of the great Jennings estate that attracted such wide attention for many years.

The Catawissa Railroad passes directly by the village and has a depot for the convenience of the people.

Chapter XIX
LIMESTONE TOWNSHIP

This was one of the townships struck off from Derry in the latter part of "the forties." It is in the heart of the rich agricultural portion of the county. The oldest living resident of this township is Joseph GIBSON; he is the great grandson of the noted early settler and surveyor, Henry GIBSON. His father, Henry GIBSON, died in November, 1860, aged eighty-two years and eight months. Through the three generations born and reared in this county, they have been of the most prominent people in this part of the State. The VALIET family can trace their lineage back to the Crusaders of the tenth century. The first immigrants to come to this country arrived in Allentown in 1749. The present representative of this family in Limestone Township is Stephen VALIET. Probably the next oldest families to come to this country were the DAVISes, now represented by Joshua DAVIS. They came to the country in 1754. Of the early settlers were the GOUGER family. John William GOUGER was long a representative pioneer settler and the family were among the most prominent and influential people in the county. Jacob GOUGER came with his parents when a child. Jacob SHULTZ was a pioneer to this part of the State and a soldier in the war of 1812. He lived in the township until he died. James SHELL married a daughter of his and is now residing on the SHULTZ farm. The FULMERS were early comers and a people much respected. One of them served some time as associate judge in this county.

Limestoneville was founded by Daniel SMACK in 1835. He had settled here, and about that time erected dwelling and store, making a large establishment for that day, and one of the finest store-rooms in the county. He determined to make a town of the place and he allowed full swing to his spirit of enterprise. He built a blacksmith shop and secured a smithy to run it; then a tailor and fixed him up in a shop, and then a shoemaker. But he did not stop with the temporal comforts and affairs of the people, but pushing ahead he built a Methodist Church and called able and earnest flock tenders to wend their way to his moral green pastures. The church building is a frame, and is supplied regularly from Milton. A very nice brick schoolhouse was put up. Indeed Mr. SMACK's ambition was fully consummated--a town had been built up, and the outlook was flattering for its continued prosperity. A hotel had been opened by a German. BALLIET & McCORMICK had opened a store, and then bought out SMACK's store and its belongings, which included the town itself, and they became not only the store-keepers but the town proprietors. They conducted the mercantile business with success until 1848, when they sold to Jacob WIDENHOWER. There are now two stores in the place, many comfortable residences and the general surroundings that are important to the people in a small village. It is one of the nine places in the county that has a postoffice. Near Mr. GOUGER's residence in this township is a place called California. It is merely a cluster of farm houses adjacent to each other, and in the settlement is a schoolhouse.

Chapter XX
MAHONING TOWNSHIP

An old document, dated June, 1798, was made by Philip MAUS, collector of the township, and contains a list of taxables in the township for all that year. It is only a majority of them who were residents of what is now Mahoning Township, for the reason that now its territorial limits are much smaller than they were then. The list includes probably about all who were then residents of the entire county, and part of Columbia County, and it is as follows: Paul ADAM, James BURK, Robert BIGGERS, John BUGART, Daniel BARTON, Elisha BARTON, Cornelius BOGART, Abraham BOGART, Stephen BROWN, Peter, Frederick and Michael BLUE, Thomas BOYER, John CLARK, James CONIFRAN, Isaac CALDEN, Duncan CAMERON, Widow CURRY, Geo. CALDWELL, John CALDWELL, John and William COX, William CORNELIUS, Widow CAMERON (grandmother of Hon. Simon CAMERON), Andrew COUGHRAN, John and Thomas DAVIS, Samuel ERWIN, John ENRIT, Sr. and Jr., John and Daniel FRAZER, Michael HILLE, Hugh and Thomas HUGHES, David INAWALT, James GETPLIN, James KERMER, David KERR, John MOORE, Philip MAUS, John MILLER, William MONTGOMERY, Alex. McMILLEN, Benjamin MARTIN, William MARTIN, Aaron and Daniel PEW, Daniel PHILLIPS, ____ ROBINSON, Leonard RUPERT, James RABE, John STEWART, James SAMPLE, John SEIGLER, Michael SUNDES, Jacob VANDERBILT, Gilbert VORHIGH, John WOODWARD, John WILSON, Joseph WILLIAMS, Thomas WILLETTS, John YOUNG, Alexander SELIMAN, Harman ZULIC. The list separates the young men from the married men, and the list of the young men is as follows: Geo. MAUS, Isaac BUDWAN, Mike SAUNDERS, John COOK, Samuel ENRIT, Jacob SECHLER, Alexander McGEE, William RICHARD, David STEELE, Jacob GROFF, Widow CAMPBELL (a young widow, it is supposed), Jonathan D. SARGEANT, Michael BRIGHT, William CLARK, Widow DUNCAN, Daniel HEISHER, Abel and Daniel REESE, Aaron LONG, Geo. MILLER, Evan OWEN, David PHILLIPS, Widow ZIMES, Thomas ROBINSON, Alexander BERRYHILL, William ROSS, Abner WICKERSHAM, Dennis LEARY, James HUNTER, George FANT, John BUEL, Cadwallader ZOWNS, Samuel PLEASANTS.

The Danville Insane Asylum is located in Mahoning Township; a full account will be found in Chapter III. The Danville and Mahoning Almshouse is also in this township. It is in the east part of the township, two miles from Danville--the Catawissa Railroad passing through a portion of the land. The land was purchased in October, 1854, of John HARTZELL and wife, consideration &7,000, and comprises 116 acres. It was built for the purpose of caring for the paupers of Danville and Mahoning Township, and is under the control of three directors. The present ones are Elijah C. VORIS, John C. ROBERTS and James WOODSIDES; clerk, William M. RUSSELL. At the present there are twenty-five inmates, eighteen males and seven females, all under the care of Elijah SECHLER, steward, appointed annually by the directors.

Chapter XXI
MAYBERRY TOWNSHIP

This is one of the youngest townships in the county. It is cut off from the main body of the county by the Susquehanna River, including the only portion of the county's territory that runs across the river to the south. The river forms its north boundary line; the east line is the county line, and the south and west line is the dividing line between it and Northumberland County. The township was formed in 1850 of territory taken from Franklin Township in Columbia County, and was named "Mayberry" in honor of Mayberry GEARHART, a descendant of William GEARHART, one of the earliest settlers in this part of the county--then Northumberland.

It is broken and hilly, the level or valley land along the course of the streams being generally narrow. Mountainous elevations rise but a short distance from the Susquehanna River and extend south nearly the length of the township. What is called the Sharp Ridge rises on the eastern side of the township and passes southwesterly and south through nearly the center of its territory; the ascent of this ridge is gradual and the top is comparatively level and therefore along this ridge is the main road that is going from Danville passes across the north end along the river to Mr. GEARHART's place on Roaring creek, and then turns south and passes out at the southwest corner of the township. Another road that joins this at the Methodist Episcopal Church turns south at the North schoolhouse and goes directly south. This is a shorter route to the Lutheran Church and school, but the abruptness of the hills over which it passes makes it more difficult to travel. When the high plane is reached there is frequently level land and from this the timber has been cleared away and farms made. The productive qualities of these uplands are fair, but the natural washing of the soil requires careful and faithful husbandry. The streams all run north and to the northeast and northwest, the two Roaring creeks forming the east and west boundary lines and emptying into the Susquehanna. Then near the center between these two streams there is a stream heading up near the Sharp Ridge and passing north to the Susquehanna. The tributaries of Roaring creek are two, heading at Sharp Ridge and running northeast to the main stream. The tributaries of Little Roaring creek rise on the opposite side of the Sharp Ridge and run in a northwesterly direction.

The first settlements in this portion of what was then Northumberland County were made by Germans, and were on the east side of Roaring creek, opposite William GEARHART's first place of settlement, now owned and occupied by his son Mayberry. The moving spirit of this first German colony was John MENSCH. Charles BOONE, of Berks County, made the original improvement that is now the Mayberry GEARHART place. He lived here some years and then returned to his old home. Dr. William BOONE lived half a mile up the creek. He lived here some years; then went to Ohio, where he was killed. The VOUGHTs were of the first to locate in the township. J. VOUGHT's improvement was about a mile still further up the creek. Among others to come at an early day was Peter OSMAN. He lived near the Methodist Episcopal Church in the north part of the township. The exact date when the VOUGHTs came and made what it is now supposed was the first settlement in this township is not known. It is supposed it was about the end of the last century or the beginning of this. It was about 1820 when the BOONEs came, and it is now fifty-four years since William GEARHART made his settlement. The accessions to the first cluster of improvements along the Susquehanna River were slow in coming. There was then no bridge at Danville and but few and rough roads that furnished outlets to other points to the south. The census of 1880 showed a population in the township of only 230 souls. The township is divided into two school districts, the River District and the Centre District. The first schoolhouse, built many years ago, and used for church purposes also, stands near the road where it turns south, about half way between M. SHULTZ's and D. SHULTZ's farms. About three-quarters of a mile south of the schoolhouse is the first church, the Methodist Episcopal Church, built in the township, and here was the first cemetery. Then about the same distance south of this and on the same road is the Lutheran Church, school and cemetery. These were built about 1856. The churches now are and have been supplied from other points, holding meetings at stated times.

There is no village or township in its confines. A flag station is on the railroad near Roaring creek. The people are agricultural in their habits, contented as a rule to plod peacefully along in the footsteps of their ancestors. The younger generation, not infrequently going out to larger places to attend school, catch the infection of the rushing, ambitious outside world and forsake the quiet, rural scenes of childhood, and take up their habitations in distant villages, towns and cities of the country.

Chapter XXII
VALLEY TOWNSHIP

The first permanent settlement made in what is now Valley Township, it is supposed, was by Phillip (or Philip) MAUS, the founder in this country of that large family, in each generation of which there has been a prominent one of that name. An extended sketch of Phillip MAUS, the first, is given in the chapter entitled "Early Settlers," to which the attention of the reader is referred. It is there told that he purchased his land on the Mahoning Creek in May, 1769, as soon as it was possible to obtain title in the new Indian purchase, including all this portion of the State. As soon as the Revolutionary war was drawing to an end, he came with his son and two carpenters to build his house in the wilderness. He first visited his purchase in 1782; reported the little settlement at Danville had just been founded by the brothers Daniel and William MONTGOMERY, and there were there "half a dozen families from the southeastern part of the State and from New Jersey." His recollection, which is the correct one, is that the MONTGOMERYs had purchased the place of John SIMPSON, and also "purchased SIMPSON's saw and flouring mill." So it appears that the "saw and flouring mill" had really been built by SIMPSON. With the carpenters Mr. MAUS brought with him, his own and his son's help, he erected the first cabin in Valley Township. Its site was a short distance from the right bank of the stream, nearly half a mile from the present stone mill. He contracted for clearing a small tract of land, but the Indians grew so threatening that he buried all the tools and other chattels he could, in order to keep them from the savages. From his recollections, as written by John FRAZER, we extract the following account of the killing of Robert CURRY. Of the many conflicting accounts this is probably the most reliable:

"Two years previously, in May, 1780, Robert CURRY and his wife, traveling on horseback from Northumberland, on the way to their little farm on the Mahoning, when about midway between the two places, were attacked by the savages. He was killed and scalped and his skull broken to fragments with their tomahawks. She was taken prisoner. Her hair was long and jet black, which they greatly admired. They told her she was 'a much pretty squaw,' and would not hurt her. They traveled until night when they encamped. They then tied her hands and feet with hickory bark. Soon they were in a profound sleep, when she cut the bark from her wrists and ankles. She had concealed a pair of scissors about her person which, fortunately for her, escaped their vigilant search when she was first made captive. She fled from their camp as fast as possible, but they soon missed her and, lighting torches, pursued her in all directions. She concealed herself in the top of a fallen tree. They passed over the trunk of the tree and, as they did so, cried out: 'Come out, squaw, we see you. Come out, pretty squaw, we see you.' After some time spent in fruitless search they abandoned it, broke up their camp before daylight and pursued their journey. She then returned to the remains of her murdered husband and gathering up the pieces of his skull in her apron, took them to her house which she reached the next day. The agony and deep distress of this poor woman may be conceived, but the pen utterly fails to describe them."

A fragment of a letter from Mrs. MAUS dated "Northumberland, 1783," is so full of interest that we give all that part of it contained in the torn portion of the original letter, as follows:

    "Your brother George likes this place very well. When you come, do not fail to bring 100 White Chapel needles and two or three ounces of thread suitable for sewing calico and home-spun linen. Give my love to your grandpa and grandma, and tell her I wish her to come with you and see us; we will arrange for her journey to Lebanon and back. You will see Rev. STOY's palace. Tell her the PENINTON's house up Race Street is nothing to compare to it and Dr. STOY lives only seventy-five miles from us. * * * Tell the girls that Susy and the young girls here take a canoe and go into the river fishing by themselves; the river is as clear as a spring and not half a yard deep. This is a most beautiful and picturesque place. We have the wild deer not half a mile from us, skipping about the hills where the boys go to fetch the cows.
    (Signed.) Your loving mother, Frances MAUS

Philip MAUS built his mill in 1793, and here was cut the lumber for nearly every building erected for years in the surrounding country. The limestone found here was a valuable material in building what we may term the second crop of settlers' houses. It eventually became the great source of supply to the Danville iron furnaces. In the year 1800 he erected his flouring-mill. It was an imposing stone building for that day, and still is standing, as sound and durable, apparently, as when first built. His experience in digging his mill-race was varied, one portion being dug by the Catholics and the other by Prostestants; and several times Mr. MAUS had to take possession of the clubs and shillalahs of both parties to prevent their being worn out over bloody heads. This was called their amusement, and by way of explanation of these theological discussions it may be stated that these men consumed eleven barrels of whisky while at work and play of digging the mill-race.

The experiences of the MAUS family are a graphic illustration of what were the sources of past time and work of a respectable, intelligent and well reared people. How completely were they thrown upon their own resources. Only when they had raised their sheep could they clothe themselves in woolen goods in the winter. For summer they made linen goods of the flax they raised. Woolen or linen, the men wore "hunting shirts" much after the style to be seen in the pictures of Daniel Boone. The MAUS family cultivated, early, two acres of flax. There was a Scotch family in the settlement that did the most of the weaving. Before the era of wool and flax they dressed deer skins and the hides of other wild animals, and of these made clothing. Rabbit-skin caps were quite an elegant luxury at one time. A young man when he reached this high-water mark in dress was ready to go "sparking" at the bower of the belle of all the land. We are told that in the MAUS home during the long winter evenings, by the light of lard oil iron lamps they read books of devotion. "Cook's Voyages," Weem's "Life of Washington," "Deserted Village," "Vicar of Wakefield," and even "Don Quixote." These were read aloud, and sometimes Mr. MAUS would contribute immeasurably to the enjoyment by appropriating the dramatis personoe amongst them.

When the family reached the possession of an ample fortune a family carriage was purchased; it was the style of Louis XIV. Nothing ever created a greater sensation in the valley than the arrival of this family carriage. It is said to be the first in what is now Montour County. The two MONTGOMERYs had a gig each, and these three were the only pleasure carriages in the country for many miles around.

Samuel MUSIC was one of the MAUS family's early neighbors. Samuel was noted as a good man and excellent neighbor, but also for his moods of humor, and sometimes when in low spirits his gruffness was amusing. By those who knew him best he was best understood, and when in his grimmest moods his roughest speeches were only the sources of smiles among his friends.

The township poor farm is situated near the residence of Judge John BENFIELD. It was established about four years after the one of Danville and Mahoning. It was made almost compulsory in the township in self protection, after the one had been established, to establish the other.

Peter BLUE, Fredrick BLUE and James STUTFELT leased for a time the MAUS farm, agreeing to take possession as soon as it would be possible from the Indian troubles. They came on according to contract and went vigorously to work The arrangements for them to come here had been made in Northumberland, at the fort probably.

There are three churches in Valley Township. The Lutheran Church, a brick building in Frosty Valley, is the representative of the earliest church in the township. We found the oldest inhabitants unable to give us the date of its founding but it was sometime in the latter part of the last century. It is served from Danville. The Hendricks Methodist Episcopal Church is at a place known as Cambellton Hill and the Mausdale Church.

In addition to the MAUS stone mill, Judge John BENFIELD has a mill on his place that is a valuable addition to that part of the county.

Mausdale is a small village not quite two miles from Danville. It was originally a mere cluster of settlers who were attracted there by the rich and beautiful valley and the MAUS mill and improvements.

Chapter XXIII
WEST HEMLOCK TOWNSHIP

New Columbia was once a pretentious village, or rather one that looked forward to some future expectations. It was on the Bloomsburg stage route and at one time, no doubt, promised itself to have some day a postoffice. But relentless fate built the Catawissa Railroad, the stage and stage horn no more were on the road and the promised growth of the place departed--moved down, it is supposed, to Grovania. But St. Peter's church and Cemetery, with a few residences, remain to the place yet. Its name is about all that is left except the few comfortable residences belonging to surrounding farmers. The surface of the township is hilly and parts mountainous. The agricultural lands are limited, being confined to the few narrow valleys. The east branch of Mahoning creek passes through the north part of it.

Of the early settlers in this township was George CROSSLEY and family. Their settlement was made about a mile south of where New Caledonia now is. The descendants of this old family have now all left the neighborhood. The next family probably in the order of coming was that of Michael SANDEL. This was a large family. There are now in the township Peter, Jacob and Nathan--the latter was never married; the others have families. Burtis ARNWINE settled in the southern part of the township. This was at one time a numerous family, but now they are all gone from this part of the county. Daniel CROMLEY was one of the numerous CROMLEY family whose descendants are yet to be found scattered over the eastern part of the county. Daniel was among the early settlers in what is now West HEMLOCK. Two of the sons are still residing there; one is on the old homestead.

CHAPTER II. Pg. 6


SOME OF THE EARLY FAMILIES

We are in the dawn of the second century since the first settlers came to what is now Montour County. The only record these sturdy people had time to make of themselves, for the contemplation and pleasure of their posterity, was almost solely by the works of their hands amid trials and difficulties we can but poorly appreciate now. Without machinery, tools, money or the rudest appliances of civilization, they had to carve out their way against appalling obstructions. That they did it, not only well, but at all, is one of the marvels in the history of the human race. The world's "seven wonders" that have passed down for the admiration of so many ages are, in the aggregate and abstract, but childish, simple nothings--floating bubbles--compared to that of the continental conquerors--these liberators of the human race, who builded, no doubt, wiser than they knew, but yet who built for all ages and for all mankind. The sublime story of these simple, grand men and women has never been properly told, is not understood by their descendants of to-day. Their memories have been grossly neglected and too often now their wonderful story has passed away forever with their decaying bones.

The few mentioned in this chapter include but a small portion of those whose family names should be indelibly stamped upon the pages of the history of Montour, yet these few names include about all, in connection with the accounts of many others in different parts of this work, of whom it is possible now to give any definite and reliable information.

To write the history of the early days of what now constitutes Montour County and to write the history of the MONTGOMERY family would be mostly one and the same thing. Gen. Wm. MONTGOMERY wrote this upon the blank leaf of an old family Bible: "August 3rd, 1809. - By the goodness of divine Providence, I have this day numbered seventy-three years," (not noticing the change of style) "and it is but right that I should leave a record of something of God's goodness to me in so long a life. I was the third son of Alexander and Mary MONTGOMERY, who both died leaving me an orphan of ten or eleven years old."

From Mr. A. F. RUSSEL it is learned that Alexander and Mary MONTGOMERY had eight children--seven boys and one girl. William, Daniel and Margaret Montgomery emigrated to Northumberland County together from Chester County. William was born August 3, 1736, and died in May, 1816, at the green old age of eighty years. William had become a prominent man in his native county, Chester, before the Revolution. He was a member of the "Associators" and a delegate in a convention "of the people of the Province of Pennsylvania," assembled in Philadelphia, January 23, 1775. He was again a delegate of the convention that assembled in Carpenter's Hall, Philadelphia, June, 1776. He was now "Colonel" MONTGOMERY.

In June, 1776, Col. MONTGOMERY's battalion, the Fourth Chester County Militia, 450 strong, was "serving its tour" in New Jersey, and it is supposed was in the battle of Long Island in August, 1776. Then his regiment became known as the "Flying Camp." In 1773 he came to Northumberland County, and November 26, 1774, is the date of the deed of J. SIMPSON to William MONTGOMERY for "180 acres of land on Mahoning Creek, north side of the east branch of the Susquehanna, called "Karkaase." This is the land on which Danville was originally laid out. He removed his family to this place in 1776 or early 1777. Here his youngest son, Alexander, was born October 8, 1777.

He was a fearless borderer of brawn and brain admirably suited to the turbulent times that were then upon the country, and that in consequence of Indian raids weighed so heavily upon the outer settlements. In 1779 he was a member of the Assembly from Northumberland County. In March, 1780, he voted for an act "for the gradual abolition of slavery." In 1784 he was elected by the Assembly a member of Congress; resigned February 7, 1785. In 1785 he was appointed president judge of the district composed of Northumberland and Luzerne Counties. In 1787 he was appointed a commissioner to execute the acts of the Assembly entitled "an act for ascertaining and confirming to certain persons called 'Connecticut Claimants,' the lands by them claimed in the county of Luzerne, etc." In December, 1787, he was appointed deputy surveyor of Northumberland and Luzerne Counties; when he received this appointment he resigned his office of president judge of the courts. In 1791 he was induced to accept a commission of justice of the peace. There last two names acts are strong charter marks of the man himself. In 1808 he was presidential elector, the vote of Northumberland County standing: William MONTGOMERY, Republican-Democrat, 2,793, and for the Federal candidate, 220.

This is the briefest outline of his military and official life, but his permanent greatness and fame should rest chiefly upon his domestic, commercial and agricultural loans. To the little colony of settlers he was much liked a careful and protecting father. He boldly ventured upon any scheme of Merchandising or manufacturing that promised to yield good fruits to the people. In an address to his neighbors in the dawn of this century he told them that these hills were full of iron, and he believed there were those listening to him who would live to see here great iron factories, employing vast numbers of laborers and yielding boundless wealth to the country. His prophecy became entirely realized. He established here the firs saw, grist and woolen-mills, the first store, and in fact the first of almost everything that gave such a powerful impulse to the building up of the town of Danville. We cannot better conclude this account than by completing the quotation from Gen. MONTGOMERY's own words with which we commenced this sketch:

    "I early married Margaret NIVIN; she was all that could be expected in a woman; she was pious, sensible and affectionate; she lived with me about thirteen years and had issue, Mary, who died at twenty-three years of age; Alexander, who died in infancy; Margaret, who died in the same year with her sister; William, who is still alive and has a large family, is about forty-seven years old; John, who is about two years younger and has also a large family; Daniel, who is still two years younger than John and has a family; Alexander, who died about one year old.

    "About twenty-two months after her decease I married Isabella EVANS, a most distinguished and delightful woman, by whom I had issue, Robert, born in April, 1773; Hannah, born the 22d of January, 1775; Alexander, born October 8, 1777, and Margaret, born January 8, 1784. The three former are still living, but she died soon after her marriage with Thomas WOODSIDE. Their mother was called away from me in August, 1791, and in April, 1793, I married a worthy and eminent woman; her maiden name was BOYD, and she was the widow of Col. Mathew BOYD, by whom she had issue, John, who died with the dysentery, aged about twenty-three years; also, Rebekah, who is married to Rev. John B. PATTERSON, lives happily and is raising a fine family. But I have had no issue by my present wife nor has any uneasiness arisen in consequence of it. Nor can it be said that any of my children have had stepmothers, being always treated with as much tenderness and respect as they could have expected from their own mothers. Another instance of my happiness and for which I ought to be very thankful is the untarnished morality of my children, and the peace and harmony that has always subsisted among them.

    "Through all this long life I have been abundantly provided for, have enjoyed honor enough unsought by any other means than honestly endeavoring to do my duty to my God and my country--great health and much comfort, retaining my natural powers with little diminution until about five or six years past, since when I feel sensibly the advances of age. But I hope that goodness and mercy which, have followed me through life will not forsake me when gray hairs appear, but continue to conduct me down to death, after which, through the merits of our Lord Jesus Christ alone and the mercy of God our Savior, I hope to obtain eternal rest and happiness
    Wm. MONTGOMERY

    "Note this year the woolen factory at Danville established under my care."

Gen. Daniel MONTGOMERY was the third son of the above Gen. William MONTGOMERY, and was fifteen years old when his father brought his family to Danville to reside. When only twenty-five years old Daniel opened, under the guidance and assistance of his father, the first store in Danville. Soon he was the trusted merchant and factor of a wide circle of patrons. This first store building was where the Montour House now stands. November 27, 1791, Daniel MONTGOMERY married Miss Christiana STRAWBRIDGE. The next year he laid out the town of Danville--the part east of Mill Street. The new town received its baptismal name from abbreviating his Christian name through the partiality of his customers. From this time until his death he was the most prominent man in this part of the State; elected to the Legislature in 1800, at once taking his father's place as a trusted leader in public enterprises and politics of his district. By leading men throughout the State he was recognized as a man of great influence in wisely shaping public affairs. During his actual political life of many years he carried on his extensive mercantile establishment, purchased and owned large tracts of land. In 1805 he was lieutenant-colonel in the Eighty-first Pennsylvania Militia. He was appointed major-general of the Ninth Division, July 27, 1809. He was the chief promoter in the building of turnpike roads in this portion of the State. Elected to Congress in 1807 as a Democrat, he served out his term ably and acceptably and declined a re-election. He worked efficiently for the division of Northumberland county and the erection of Columbia and Union Counties; Danville was made the county seat of Columbia County and the father and son donated the land for the county buildings, and contributed largely in money toward their erection. In 1823, though strongly urged by prominent men all over the State, he declined to stand for the office of governor. In 1828 he was appointed one of the canal commissioners, and while in this office the great internal State improvements were inaugurated, and among others the North Branch Canal was located and well advanced toward completion. He was a large stockholder and a strong promoter of the Danville Bridge Company, completing the bridge in 1829. He originated the project of the Danville & Pottsville Railroad and was first president. Amid these varied positions of trust, great labor and responsibility he, like his father, was a noted farmer. Gen. Daniel MONTGOMERY died at his residence in Danville, Friday, December 30, 1831, aged sixty-six years. The old family Bible bears the following record of his children: Margaret, born October 18, 1792, died April 1, 1845, unmarried; Isabella, born August 1, 1794, died October 11, 1813, unmarried; Mary, born July 26, 1796, died September 2, 1797; Thomas, born July 19, 1798; died February 22, 1800; Hannah, born October 16, 1800, married to J. C. BOYD, May 1820; William, born January 11, 1803, died January 23, 1873, aged seventy, bachelor; Polly, born February 6, 1805, married to Dr. W. H. MAGILL, May 1, 1828 (they have two sons and three daughters); Christina, born March 1, 1809, died May, 26, 1836, unmarried; Daniel Strawbridge, born July 2, 1811, died March 26, 1839.

Philip MAUS was born in Prussia, 1731. In company with his parents he came to Philadelphia in 1741, being then ten years old. He attended school and soon he could speak and write both English and German fluently. In 1750 he was apprenticed to the trade of manufacturing stockings, a circumstance that enabled him in the times of the Revolution to greatly aid and benefit the country. Within five years after he commenced to learn his trade he established himself in the business, conducting it with great success for the next twenty years, when the troubles with the mother country suspended operations. His brothers were Fredrick, Charles and Mathew. The latter became a prominent surgeon in the war and was with Gen. MONTGOMERY in his expedition into Canada, and when MONTGOMERY fell before Quebec he aided Col. BURR in carrying away his body. Dr. MAUS served through the entire war of independence.

Phillip MAUS married Frances HEAP, a native of England, a most estimable wife, mother and friend. When his business furnished him the capital he invested in the purchase of 600 acres of land. the patents from Thomas and John Penn are dated April 3, 1769, and are among the earliest in what is now Montour County. The proprietaries reserved a perpetual quit rent of two pence per acre, which was paid until the commonwealth compensated the Penns and became the proprietor of the lands. The tract of land lay in the rich and fertile valleys of Valley Township. At the time of the purchase it laid on the outer fringe of the settlements, and hence no improvements were made on the property until after the Revolution. But as soon as peace and safety permitted, Mr. MAUS brought his family to this place and for more than thirty years it was his home. The children of this happy union were George, born 1759; Elizabeth, 1761; Phillip, 1763; Susan, 1765; Samuel, 1767; Lewis 1773; Charles, 1775; Joseph, 1777; Jacob 1781. During the Revolution Mr. MAUS was an active and earnest patriot. He formed the intimate acquaintance, which extended to the end of their days, of Benjamin Franklin and Robert Morris. Mr. MAUS invested very largely of his ample fortune in furnishing clothing to the army, took his pay in continental money, and of this money, when it became valueless, he had several thousand dollars on hand. Baskets full of this old currency may yet be found in the possession of Phillip F. MAUS. What would a modern army contractor think if he was to hear this story?
Here is a letter that now possesses a historical interest:

    Philadelphia, 9 Octo, 1776.
    Mr. Samuel UPDEGRAPH, Sir: - By the bearer, Mr. Joseph KERR, I send you the ballance of the price of 8 doz pairs of buckskin breeches I bought of you, having paid you L9 [9 pounds] in advance, the ballance being L143 3s [143 pounds 3 shillings] which he will pay you on delivering him the goods. If you have any more to dispose of he will contract with you for them, and I shall be glad if you and him an agree.
    Your humble servant,
    Philip MAUS

Leather breeches, moccasins and hunting shirts of the same were the clothing of some of the grandfathers of many of our most aristocratic and exclusive people of fashion and wealth of the present day. Could the rehabilitated form of one of these appear in his buckskin jerkin well soiled in the service of camp and field and, unkempt and unwashed, appear in some of our modern parlors unannounced, would not the cooing Charles Augustus and Floritina faint dead away?

At the close of the war his fortune was so reduced, as he had expended his good gold for materials to manufacture clothing for the army and took his pay in what was in the end valueless Continental money, that he turned his attention to his land in this county, and came here in 1782. He found the infant settlement of Danville, which had then been founded by Daniel MONTGOMERY and his brother, William consisting of a few log cabins and half a dozen families, nearly all from the southeastern portion of the State and the western part of New Jersey. His lands, when he then looked upon them, presented a mass of verdue and deep, tangled wild woods, stretching along the northern base of Montour's Ridge, with the Mahoning flowing through them. He brought with him from Philadelphia two carpenters, and his son Phillip and his own willing hands were the means at hand to clear away the great forest and make his beautiful farm. He erected the first cabin in Valley Township. Its site was on the right bank of the stream nearly half a mile from the present stone mill. He contracted the clearing of other parts of his land, but then the Indian troubles commenced, and the people in these unprotected parts had to flee to Northumberland for safety. Before leaving the place everything they could not carry away, such as implements, tools, etc., was carefully buried and secreted from the Indians. The place was then rented to Peter BLUE and James SUTPHEL, the bargain being that the lessees were to return and occupy the lands as soon as it would be safe to do so. Mr. MAUS and family remained in Northumberland only a brief time and then proceeded to Lebanon, where he remained one year; then came back to the Mahoning settlement.

Phillip F. MAUS, now living in Mausdale, in this county, is the son of Joseph and Sally MONTGOMERY MAUS and is the grandson of Phillip MAUS, one of the first settlers in what is now Valley Township and of whom there is an extended sketch in the chapter entitled "Some of the Early Families." the direct line of descent to young Phillip Eugene MAUS, now of Mausdale, is as follows: Philip MAUS, his son Joseph, then Joseph's son Phillip F. and then Phillip F.'s son Phillip E. MAUS. Joseph MAUS Was born in Philadelphia, October, 1777, and came to this county with his parents when about eight years old. He married in 1808 Sallie, daughter of John MONTGOMERY, of Paradise farm. The issue of this marriage were Phillip F., born September 27, 1810, and John M., born in 1812. Joseph MAUS died July 26, 1867. Sallie MONTGOMERY MAUS died May 20, 1872. John M. married Rebecca GRAY, who was born in 1812 and married in 1833. Phillip F. MAUS married Sarah GALLAHER, of Lycoming County, in May, 1838. Of this marriage there were six children--four boys and two girls--all of whom except Phillip E. died in infancy. Mrs. Sarah GALLAHER MAUS was a daughter of William and Margaret GALLAHER, who were early settlers in what is now Lycoming county. They were of Scotch-Irish descent. The history of the MAUS family elsewhere in this book is very nearly a complete history of the county from its first settlement to date.

John C. GULICS was born in Mahoning Township, December 1, 1807, the son of John and Mary (GEARHART) GULICS, natives of New Jersey. Grandfather Jacob GEARHART was a Revolutionary soldier, attaining the rank of captain, and was long in the service under Gen. Washington. John and Mary GULICS had five children, of whom one only is now living.

Nathaniel and Sarah (BOND) WILSON were of the early settlers in Columbia County, Liberty Township. They were natives of Pennsylvania, of Scotch-Irish descent. Nathaniel was a soldier in the war of 1812-15. Descendants of the BONDs and WILSONs are now citizens of Montour County. One grandson, James WILSON is a clerk in a store in Danville.

Samuel KIRKHAM--how that name brings up the writer's school days and "parsing grammar." Pennsylvania must have bred great grammarians--Lindley MURRAY was a native of York County, and Mr. KIRKHAM was a teacher in the Danville school in 1819-21. It is said what little grammar Mr. Lincoln ever knew he got from KIRKHAM's grammar.

Daniel FRAZER came here in 1790. He purchased a farm of John FRAZER--100 acres. Here he resided thirty-eight years, or until his death. All the south part of his farm is now in the corporate limits of Danville. He was a most estimable farmer and his death was mourned by a wide circle of friends. In 1824 he built his stone residence which is still standing in good repair.

Ellis HUGHES came here a school-teacher, and for some time taught in the schoolhouse a short distance from where the Montour House now stands. He was appointed register and recorder by the governor, and served to the public's entire satisfaction. He died in 1850.

William HARTMAN came to Danville in 1814, a chairmaker--at that time a very convenient kind of workman to have in a community where three legged stools were chiefly the seats of honor. He died in 1851.

November 24, 1784, is the date of the oldest record extant containing a partial list of those who were first here. It was a subscription paper, drawn by Gen. William MONTGOMERY's hand, and entitled "Preaching Subscription." It was not especially sectarian and as all men in those days were deeply religious in faith and pined for the expounding of God's word, it is quite probable that the list contained nearly every head of a family then in the county, who was able to subscribe toward the desired fund. It is an interesting relic. To their descendants it is kind of "Declaration of Independence signers," and it is due their memories that their histories, so far as can be now obtainable, be gathered up. The list is here given in full, and following it is such an account of their descendants as the writer has been enabled to gather from some of our oldest citizens.
Following is the document and the amount respectively subscribed:

    We, the subscribers, promised to pay the several sums annexed to our names into the hands of such persons as shall be named by a majority of us to receive and collect the same, to be set apart as a fund for the encouragement and promoting the preaching of the Gospel among us at the settlement of Mahoning.
    Done this twenty-fourth day of November, 1784.

    Jno. EMMITT 7s 6d
    Jas. EMMITT 7s 6d
    Charlie McCLAHAN 7s 6d
    David SUBINGALL L1
    Peter BLEW 7s 6d
    Jno. WILSON 7s 6d
    Jos. BARRY 7s 6d
    Jno. IRWIN 15s
    David CARR 7s 6d
    Jacob CARR 7s 6d
    Gilbert VOORHES 7s 6d
    Wm. MONTGOMERY, Jr. L3
    James HENRY 15s
    William GRAY 7s 6d
    Asahel FOWLER 7s 6d
    Benjamin FOWLER 17s 6d
    Robert HENRY L1 2s 6d
    James GRIMES 15s 0d
    Martin TODD 5s 0d
    Peter MELICK 7s 6d
    Wm. MONTGOMERY L3 0s 0d
    John EVART L1 0s 0d
    John BLACK L1 0s 0d
    Daniel KELLY 15s 0d
    Peter RAMBO L1 0s 0d
    John EMMET 15s 0d
    John CLARK L1 0s 0d
    Andrew COCHRAN L1 10s 0d
    Alex. McMULLAN 15s 0d
    Thomas GILES 7s 6d
    Robert GILES 7s 6d
    William LEMAR 15s 0d
    William MOORLAND L1 2s 6d
    John WHEELER 15s 0d
    Levi WHEELER 7s 6d
    Garret VANCAMP 7s 6d
    John OGDEN 7s 6d
    Lemuel WHEELER 10s 0d
    David GOODMAN L1 2s 6d
    Joseph ROSBERRY, Jr. L1 10s 0d

In those days distance had but small control in determining where the good people would attend divine service. And it is highly probable that the subscribers above named included families from every settlement in the county.

Peter BLEW (BLUE) lived in Valley Township, a good man and a much esteemed neighbor among his farmer neighbors. One of his grandsons now resides in Campbelltown.

John WILSON, we are told, was a Quaker. John, Thomas and William lived many years in Frosty Valley, on the Black road. One of the grandsons now lives there. John WILSON married John MAUS's daughter.

David and Jacob CARR settled just across the river from Danville. One of Jacob's sons now resides there.

It is said that some of the descendants of peter MELICK live on Fishing Creek.

John EVART lived in Frosty Valley. His son John lived and died on the old home place. There is one daughter surviving, living at Danville.

John BLACK lived in Derry Township, where he died many years ago.

John EMMET lived in Frosty Valley. He removed to Bloomsburg. It is told that he was one of the believers in the wild story that the Indians before they left these parts buried vast treasures of gold in this hill. There was a further wild superstition that those who attempted to dig and find the hidden treasure would be stricken by the spell of the dusky ghosts, and would flee away in terror and pine away and die. A man named RUNYON, it was gravely related, went there to dig after EMMET had fled and left his digging implements. He too fled in terror before the spooks and went off and died.

William CLARK, in company with his brother John, kept CLARK's tavern, which stood where BROWN's bookstore now is. The building was burned down in 1835 or 1836. Tom CLARK, son of William, lived here, and died aged eighty years. Several of the grandchildren of William CLARK are now here.

Andrew COCHRAN died many years ago. His son Preston was reared in this county and moved away and died.

William CROWLE was a stone-mason and helped build the old still.

Thomas GASKINS and family were among the earliest settlers here. He had six children: John, Jonathan, Thomas, Mrs. Polly McMULLIN, Mrs. Betsy FORSYTH and Rachel (unmarried). Of these John was born her in 1775 and died in 1856. His son, William G. GASKINS, was born in 1817, and is now a resident of Danville.

The property now belonging to the Danville Insane Asylum was the house of the GULICS family. There was a large family of children. Of these, Catharine GULICS married John GASKINS, whose descendants are now residents of Danville.

John DEEN, Sr., the first of the name in the limits of this county, came here in 1790. He was born in Philadelphia December 22, 1783. When he was an infant his father was lost at sea--a seafaring man in command of a vessel. His mother, Eleanor (FRAZIER) DEEN, was a native of Scotland. Some of the FRAZIERs were of the earliest settlers in this portion of the State. John came to this county with his uncle in his seventh year. The widow married John WILSON. She died in Danville, October 1, 1827, in her sixty-sixth year, and was buried in the old Presbyterian cemetery. Here John lived from the time he came, with his uncle, Daniel FRAZIER, whose log house was on the hill side a little east of Bloom Street, near the present site of the Reformed Church, his farm covering the ground that is now the Fourth Ward. Here, at the short-termed subscription schools, John acquired what education he possessed. In 1796 he was apprenticed to Mr. HENDRICKSON to learn blacksmithing. In 1809 he married Miss Mary FLACK, daughter of Hugh and Susan FLACK, who was born near Washingtonville in April, 1785. The FLACKS were a large family, and their descendants are intermarried with many of the pioneer families. The father on the maternal side of the FLACKs was McBRIDE, another of the very early settlers in what is now Montour County. McBRIDE settled on a farm at what is now White Hall.

In 1809 Mr. DEEN and wife came to Danville. The town was then a mere hamlet of log buildings scattered over the territory west of what is now Church Street and south of the canal. He occupied the corner now occupied by G. M. SHOOP, where he lived until 1814. Here he had his smithey-shop; here three of his children were born, viz.: Thomas, who died at the age of five years, John and Julia Ann. He then purchased ground on the opposite side of the street of Daniel MONTGOMERY. Here he erected what is now the eastern end of the frame house now owned by his eldest daughter, Miss Julia Ann BOWYER. Here he lived the remainder of his life.

The work in a blacksmith shop in those days was very different from that of to-day---but very little machinery; everything had to be hammered out on the anvil, and charcoal was the only fuel used. Mr. DEEN's account books are still in the possession of the family and here are recorded business transactions dating back to so long a period as now to possess much historical interest. As an instance, between 1820 and 1830 here are some of the prices for his work: "Setting pair horseshoes, 12 1/2 cents; pair steel-toes shoes, 58 cents; toeing old shoes, 12 1/2 cents: pair of shoes (not toes) 46 1/2 cents; mending bridle-bit, 12 1/2 cents; 12 screws, 59 cents; laying a hammer with steel (both ends) 46 1/2 cents; ironing a two-horse wagon, $15; laying an ax with cast steel, 70 cents." Bar iron at that time was worth $100 to $120 per ton. At this time buckwheat was selling at 30 cents to 35 cents a bushel. In 1824 wheat sold for $1.87 1@; 11 yards blankets, $10.31; potatoes, 12 1/2 cents; muslin, 14 cents; a day's plowing, with two horses, $1.40. Soon after making his residence here he obtained a interest in a fishery located above the mouth of Mahoning Creek, and also one in Culp's Eddy, above. The fish caught here at that time were many and of the best quality, shad weighing as high as seven pounds, and salmon weighing fifteen pounds and rock-fish thirty pounds. The best fish sold at 6 and 7 cents a pound. The women made the twine of which the nets were made, as they then also made the clothes worn by men and women. The spinning-wheel and the loom were then to be heard in almost every house. The first woolen factory was erected in Danville more than fifty years ago. It was on Mahoning Creek, at the Northumberland street crossing. This is wandering slightly from the subject of this sketch, but at the same time it is suggested by gleanings from Mr. DEEN's old account book. His close industry and economy brought him prosperity, and in 1820 he purchased of Gen. MONTGOMERY the land running eastward along the south side of Market Street, paying $100 per acre for it. This was stony ground, not fit for cultivation. It was once a great place to pick blackberries. It has long been covered with the fine improvements we now see there. In 1826, in addition to his business of farming and his large blacksmith shop, he purchased of the patentee the right to manufacture threshing machines and opened a factory. These were evidently good machines and well made, as Mr. A. J. STILL, grandson of Mr. DEEN, informs the writer that he saw one of them in 1868 and it was still fit for service. Mr. DEEN had contracts on the canal, then being constructed, as well as on the river bridge. When the canal was opened he owned and ran a boat thereon in the coal trade. At an age when ordinary men retire largely from active business life, he built a tannery on the river near Church Street. January 5, 1852, his faithful helpmeet departed this life. After a long and useful life, widely esteemed, and beloved by a great circle of family and friends, he breathed his last July 16, 1864, leaving behind seven children. His oldest son, John, married Jane HUTTON and died in 1874; four of his children are still living. Julia Ann, aged seventy-three years, is the wife of John BOWYER. James married Margaret SANDERS; Jane married Thomas BRANDON; Hannah married Rev. Amos B. STILL, and has but one son living, A. Judson; and Perry, the youngest son, married Mary Jane RITCHIE; after her death he married Jane FULLMAR. Susan, the youngest of the family, married Isaac TYLER; she died in 1865; three of her children are now living.

Frequent mention of the FRAZERS (sometimes spelled FRAZIER) occurs in other parts of this work. Daniel FRAZER was born May 2, 1755, and married Sarah WILSON in 1772. She died in 1775; he was again married. His second wife was Isabella WATSON, whom he married on the sixth day of February, 1777. He died in Danville on March 26, 1828. His children were Charles, Emma, Margaret, James, Alexander, Sarah, Jane, William, Christiana M., Agnes, Daniel and Thomas, all of whom are dead, except Christiana, who married Enos MILLER, who died in 1870. His descendants reside in Montour County, New York, and Michigan. He came to this place about 1790 and purchased of John FRAZER 100 acres of land in the southwest part of his 284-acre tract. On this land he resided thirty-eight years, until his death in the seventy-third year of his age. He was an honest and industrious farmer, enjoying the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens. For a long time he resided at the base of the hill, near the site of an old Indian trading post, and a very short distance north of the spring. In 1824 he built the substantial stone residence which is still standing. All the southern portion of his farm is now within the corporate limits in Danville.


===========
BIOGRAPHIES
===========

ROBERT ADAMS, of the firm of Conkling & Co., dealers in all kinds of books and stationery, and agents for the Adams Express Company, Danville, was born in Farrandsville, Penn., May 22, 1838, a son of Robert and Hester (JODON) ADAMS. His parents were natives of Pennsylvania and of Irish origin. The father was a boot and shoe manufacturer. Robert is the youngest in a family of five children, and grew to manhood in Danville; was educated at the Danville Academy and graduated in 1856. Except the time spent in school he has been with Mr. CONKLING since he was eleven years of age, first being employed with him as a boy in the store, then as clerk, and later bought a partial interest in the business. In 1866 Mr. CONKLING took him in as full partner, and their relationship has since existed without a word of discord. Mr. ADAMS has been connected with the Adams Express Company at Danville since 1854. The firm own their store room, and have fitted it up especially for their business, and also own the room for the express office. Mr. ADAMS is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 141)

WILLIAM AMESBURY, coal merchant, Church Street, Danville, was born in England November 26, 1825, a son of Richard and Harriet (PERNELL) AMESBURY. He is the second in a family of seven children, and at the age of eight years ran away from home rather than attend school. He first obtained employment where a railroad was being built, making himself useful by carrying tools, etc., and was soon the pet of the workmen. He earned twenty-five cents a day, which gave him an ample supply of money for his wants, and thus employed remained until he was twelve years old. He then went to Scotland and worked with railroad men two years, at the end of which time he returned to England and began to work in the mines at Yorkshire. There he remained until the age of twenty-two, when he came to America; remained a short time in New York, and then came to Danville, where he was employed in the iron mines one year. He then went to St. Louis, Mo., where he engaged with a company to travel in search of lead and copper mines, which he made his employment for some time, and during which period made several important discoveries. He traveled extensively in that business, has been in all the States and Territories in South America, Canada, England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales, and has crossed the ocean from America to England three times. He carried on mining, employing from forty to fifty men, and, although his education is limited, he was his own bookkeeper and kept all his accounts. He married, in 1854, Miss Maria, daughter of Richard COOK and of English origin. Five children blessed their union: William, Mary (wife of Thomas CROMWELL), Adaline, Jennie and Arthur. Mr. and Mrs. AMESBURY are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Politically he is independent. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 141)

W. H. AMMERMAN, insurance agent, Danville, was born in Northumberland County, Penn., November 19, 1834, a son of Robert S. (a farmer) and Margaret (JOHNSON) AMMERMAN, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Scotch descent, who had a family of seven children, W. H. being second. Our subject received his education in his native county, chose farming as his occupation, and followed it until the age of twenty-three. He then obtained a certificate, and taught school several years, after which he accepted a position as agent for The Farmer's Mutual Fire Insurance Company of Middle Pennsylvania, and was sent to Lycoming County, Penn., where he carried on the business for twelve years, and still represents it at Danville. The available collateral assets of this company, July 15, 1886, were $269,128.48, and the company is now in a flourishing condition. During that time he had his home at Danville, and when, in 1871, the Danville Mutual Fire Insurance Company was organized, he was elected its secretary, which position he still holds. In 1867 he formed a partnership with Patterson JOHNSON, and the firm did a general insurance business for eighteen years, until the death of Mr. JOHNSON in 1883. The latter had been secretary of the Farmers Mutual Insurance Company of Middle Pennsylvania, and, upon his death, that company prevailed upon our subject to take the position and look after their interests until the election. When they met they elected Mr. AMMERMAN secretary, and he has since increased the capital stock of the company. He was actively engaged for a time, and is associated with David R. WILLIAMS, of Danville, in the general fire insurance business. These gentlemen are careful business men and represent none but first-class companies, such as the following: AEtna of Hartford, Conn.; Fire Association of Philadelphia; Germania, of New York City; Girard, of Philadelphia; Imperial, of London, England; Lancashire, of Manchester, England; Phoenix, of Hartford, Conn.; Royal, of Liverpool, England. Mr. AMMERMAN has had a long experience in the insurance business, for which his qualifications eminently fit him, and to which the high rank he now occupies among leading insurance men is due. He has been twice married; first, November 26, 1864, to Mary J. ROGERS, who bore him six children and died in 1875. She was a member of the Episcopal Church, and of English origin. His second marriage took place February 6, 1879, with Wilhamina MORGAN. Mr. AMMERMAN has served as a member of the school board of Danville, is a member of the I. O. O. F., and also of the Masonic fraternity. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 141)

Caleb APPLEMAN, retired farmer, Danville, was born in Columbia County, Penn., April 12, 1812, a son of Boltis and Mary Melick APPLEMAN, natives of Pennsylvania and of German and Dutch descent. He is the sixth in a family of eight children and was educated in Bloomsburg. He came to Montour County in 1832, where he followed farming which he made financially successful, and retired in 1885, making his residence in Danville. His grandfather, Peter MELICK, was a soldier in the Revolution and his father was a soldier in the war of 1812. In 1831 Caleb married Mary M., a daughter of Henry RISHEL, of German origin, and ten children were born to them, viz.: Elmira, deceased wife of John CARR; Sally Ann, wife of Charles A. RENTZ; Agnes, wife of James M. VAN DEVENDER; Mary E., wife of John C. PATTERSON, of Danville; Margaret J., wife of Hon. Jesse C. AMERMAN, a prominent farmer; Amos B.; Harriet, wife of Peter E. RENTZ; Eli, a farmer; Caroline, wife of George GILMORE, and Franklin Pierce. Mrs. APPLEMAN united with the Lutheran Church at Milton when she was about nineteen years old. Mr. APPLEMAN is a member of the Episcopal Church. He was a member of the building committee when the Methodist Church in Valley Township, Montour County, was erected and was Sabbath-school superintendent there for ten years. He was school director for six years. He is a Democrat and served twenty-seven years as constable. His son Amos was in the civil war, a member of the One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 142)

GEORGE W. ASKINS, merchant, Danville, was born in Landisburg, Perry County, Penn., April 14, 1829, to Samuel (a shoemaker) and Susannah (FITZCHARLES) ASKINS, natives also of Pennsylvania, and of Scotch-Irish descent, the former of whom died in Union County, Penn. Their family consisted of nine children, four of whom grew to adult age. Our subject, the eldest child, was reared and educated in his native county until sixteen years of age. He then went to Harrisburg where he learned the tinner's trade, serving a regular apprenticeship, and after completing his apprenticeship he obtained a situation at Selin's Grove, Snyder Co., Penn. There he worked at his trade and subsequently clerked in a general store until 1877, when he came Danville and superintended a stove and tinware store for the firm of Waterman & Beaver, where he was employed for seven years. At the expiration of that time he bought out the firm, and has since continued the business with marked success. He is now the owner of the store and business room, and also of a neat and substantial residence. He married in 1853, Elizabeth MONBECK, a lady of German origin, daughter of David MONBECK, a farmer of Union county, Penn. Mrs. ASKINS is the mother of seven children: Mary, wife of R. PIERCE; William, in business with his father; Emma, at home; Charles; Harry, a tinner; Florence and Jessie. Mr. ASKINS is one of the commissioners of Montour County. He enlisted in the Eighty-fourth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, served one year and was discharged at the close of the war. He is a member of the G. A. R. of Danville; in politics a Republican. Mrs. ASKINS is a member of the Lutheran Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 142)

WILLIAM B. BALDY, editor of the Montour American, Danville, was born in that place, August 5, 1853, a son of Charles C. and Mercy Jane (BOTHWELL) BALDY, whose ancestors were among the early German and Scotch settlers of Pennsylvania. His parents were born in that State, and his father was a carriage manufacturer in Danville in the early part of his life, but later carried on a hardware store in the same place. He was twice married and his family consisted of ten children, five of whom are now living. Our subject is the fifth child by the first wife. He attended the schools of Danville and Andalusia College, in Bucks County, Penn., and also Lehigh University, where he graduated in civil engineering, class of 1876. He then commenced to learn the printer's art in the office of the Montour American, and two years later bought one-half interest in the paper, the firm being Bradley & Baldy until April 1, 1883. Since that time Mr. BALDY has been editor and proprietor of the Montour American, which is Republican in political sentiment, and has a good circulation. He is chairman of the Republican county committee; is an active member of Friendship Fire Company of Danville, and has been its secretary for eight years; is a member of the R. A. of Danville, and is its Regent; is Past Noble Grand of the I. O. O. F., and also a member of the encampment; and captain of Company F, Twelfth Regiment Pennsylvania National Guards. In 1881 Mr. BALDY married Ida B., daughter of William WATERS, and a native of Pennsylvania of German origin. They have one child, Isabella May. He and his wife are members of the Protestant Episcopal Church, of which he is a vestryman and tresaurer of the board, also Sunday-school superintendent. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 142)

JONATHAN P. BARE, justice of the peace, Danville, was born in Montgomery County, September 8, 1841, a son of Frederick and Susan (PLACE) BARE, natives of Pennsylvania and of German and French origin, respectively. In early life the father was a shoemaker, later a farmer, and died in 1849. Jonathan P. is the eldest son in a family of five children, and was reared by A. HENDRICKS on a farm in Montgomery County until 1857, when he came to Montour County, which has since been his home, except the time he spent in the service of his country. He enlisted in 1861 in the artillery, One Hundred and Twelfth Regiment of the line, and was elected orderly sergeant of Company F, served three years and was in several battles. In 1864 he returned home and worked on the Catawissa Railroad, and subsequently farmed for a time. He again worked on the railroad as a bridge-builder until September 24, 1870, when he met with a sad accident which deprived him of both feet. Politically he is a Republican, and in 1879 was elected justice of the peace, which office he still holds, and is also treasurer of the board of directors of the poor of Danville and Mahoning Township. He is a member of the G. A. R. and of the I. O. O. F. also of the I. O. O. F. Encampment. His first wife died in 1867, and in 1870 he married his second wife, a lady of German origin, who has borne him three children: William A., Harry Clayton and Sarah Gertrude. Mr. and Mrs. BARE are members of the German Reformed Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 143)

JESSE BEAVER, retired merchant, Danville, was born in Lebanon County, Penn., March 8, 1811, a son of Peter (a tanner and Methodist minister) and Elizabeth (GILBERT) BEAVER, whose ancestors were among the early settlers of Pennsylvania. (For further ancestral history see sketch of Thomas BEAVER.) They were the parents of twelve children, ten of whom attained adult age. Jesse, who is the fifth child, received his education in a log schoolhouse in Perry County, Penn. Early in life he learned the printers' trade, but never worked at it after completing his apprenticeship. He clerked two years in a store in Union County, where his father had moved in 1828, and then returned to Perry County, and engaged in keeping a general store until 1857. He then sold out and bought a store in Union County, where he continued the business until 1863. In that year he came to Danville and engaged for some years in the coal trade, after which he retired. In 1833 he married Mary Ann, daughter of Dr. Christian SWARTZ, a native of Pennsylvania and of Pennsylvania-Dutch descent. Their union was blessed with five sons and five daughters, all of whom are living and married, except one. Mr. and Mrs. BEAVER are members of the Methodist Church, of which he has been steward, trustee and class-leader. He has been a constant reader, and devotes much time to the study of the Scriptures, ancient and modern history, etc. In politics he was a Democrat until 1856, when he affiliated with the Republican party, to which he still adheres. He held several offices while a resident of Perry and Union Counties, such as school director and member of the town council, and served one term as auditor of Perry County. He was postmaster at Millerstown, and was appointed collector of toll for the Pennsylvania Canal Company, but on finding that he was usurping another man's place he refused to accept the position. Mr. BEAVER then purchased a store, which he conducted until coming to Danville in 1863. He was elected associate judge of Perry County in 1851, and served five years; also served one term as representative. In 1862 he was appointed United States revenue collector of Union County, serving until he came to Danville, when he resigned and embarked in the coal and lumber business. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 143)

THOMAS BEAVER came to Danville for his permanent home in 1857. To his hands, among others, had been entrusted the affairs of the Montour Iron and Steel Works, that had just previously suffered from the financial panic that at that time was passing over our country. Mr. WATERMAN, as co-trustee with Mr. BEAVER, retained his residence in Philadelphia, hence the immediate responsibility rested mostly on Mr. BEAVER. He soon had the entire works in successful operation, and in 1860 Messrs. WATERMAN and BEAVER purchased the entire concern, which soon became one of the most extensive iron manufacturing plants in the country. In another chapter, to which the reader is referred, is some extent the account of Mr. BEAVER's enterprise and business sagacity. Thomas BEAVER was born November 16, 1814, in Pfouty's Valley (now in Perry County), Penn., a son of Rev. Peter and Elizabeth (GILBERT) BEAVER. His ancestors on the paternal side emigrated from Germany about the beginning of 1741, and settled in Chester County, Penn. The family name of his grandmother BEAVER was KEIFER, of whom there are now residents in Franklin County, this state. This family immigrated to this country in 1755, and first settled in Lebanon County. The father of our subject, Rev. Peter BEAVER, born December 25, 1782, in Franklin County, Penn., was ordained in 1809 at Elkton, Md., by Bishop ASBURY, of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and was actively engaged in the ministry many years; he died in August, 1849. Thomas' mother died in 1818; she was Elizabeth (GILBERT) BEAVER, the daughter of grandfather GILBERT, who was born in Germany, but was of English descent, his father having been a English soldier and one of Marlborough's men in the battle of Blenheim, and from that country immigrated to America. The GILBERTs located in Lebanon County, where they resided many years, but later moved to Dauphin County. They are a large family and are farmers. The issue of the marriage of Rev. Peter and Elizabeth (GILBERT) BEAVER is as follows: George, who married Catharine LONG; Samuel, who married Maria LEMAN; Jacob, who married Ann Eliza ADDAMS (one of whose children is a favorite son of Pennsylvania, Gen. James ADDAMS BEAVER, of Centre County, a gallant soldier and Christian gentleman); Jesse, who married Mary Ann SCHWARTZ; Thomas, whose name heads this sketch; Peter, who married Eliza G. SIMINTON; Sarah, who married Aaron NEVIUS; Eliza; Catharine, who married Archibald GREENLEE, and Mary, who married Henry HILLER, now of Lewisburg. Thomas BEAVER's educational advantages were rather meagre. He never attended school after his thirteenth year, but as he possessed an indomitable will and innate intellectual force, his after success was none the less positive because of the lack of scholastic education in early youth. In April, 1827, he left the parental roof in search of his fortune, and for a number of months worked on a farm at $2.50 per month, and in the winter of that year entered the store of BEAVER & BLACK (his brother Samuel and Judge BLACK), at Milford. The following spring the business was removed to Newport, Perry County, and there he continued one year. His father having in the meantime opened a store at New Berlin, Union County, Thomas put in a year's work there, and then returned to Newport to take charge of the business of Judge BLACK, who was a prominent politician and spent most of his time outside. Close application to business brought its frequent attendant, and illness compelled a climatic change, so through the friendly aid of Gen. MITCHELL, chief of construction of the Pennsylvania Canal, on November 1, 1831, he went to Williamsport to fill an engagement in the general store of Rev. Jasper BENNETT. His knowledge of goods and force of character were demonstrated at that early day, he being sent, when but eighteen years of age, to Philadelphia to purchase a stock of goods, making the tedious journey by stage-coach. In 1833 he formed a connection with Peter NEVIUS in general merchandising at Lewisburg, and remained until 1835, when he sold out his interest and a WILLIAM BIDDLE (deceased), for many years a prominent merchant and manufacturer, of Danville, was a man of more than ordinary intelligence and executive ability. He was born at White Hall, then in Columbia County, now in Montour, April 18, 1812. His parents, Gershom and Mary (JENNINGS) BIDDLE, had a family of six sons and four daughters, he being the youngest. They were charter members of the Old Derry Presbyterian Church, that was organized in 1798. Gershom BIDDLE was a prominent man of Derry Township, of Scotch-Irish descent; his ancestors were among the early pioneers of Pennsylvania, settling on a tract of land near Fishing creek, Northumberland County, surveyed on application to the commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and purchased April 13, 1769. Mary (JENNINGS) BIDDLE, wife of Gershom, was a daughter of Hugh JENNINGS, who served in the Revolutionary war; he was of English descent; his ancestors settled in New Jersey near Morristown. William BIDDLE at the age of thirteen came to Danville, was employed as clerk by the late John MOORE, merchant; subsequently became a partner; a few years later engaged with him and others in the foundry business. After many changes among the partners he became the owner of the Eagle Works, on Ferry Street, which for a number of years was one of the leading industries of Danville, and gave employment to over 100 men. Mr. BIDDLE always took an active interest in the welfare of those in his employ, and by his kindness and generosity gained their confidence and respect--a truly honest man. He was married twice; his first wife was Mary Jane MOORE, daughter of John and Elizabeth (DONALDSON) MOORE; she died December 12, 1854, and was the mother of seven sons and two daughters, two sons living, viz.: Edward Moore BIDDLE, residing in Danville, and Walter Sterling BIDDLE, in Wilkesbarre, both married, each having one son, Edward Percy and Charles Hamrick. His second wife, Anne Alward MOORE (sister of his former wife), he married December 6, 1860. The fruit of this union was three children: Grace Hunter, Harry Otis and Horace Moore, bookkeeping in the First National Bank, Danville. William BIDDLE was identified with Danville for sixty years, and died February 3, 1885, being one of the oldest citizens of Danville, and respected by all who knew him. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 144)

HORACE C. BLUE, dealer in groceries, tobaccos, cigars, flour and feed, Danville, was born in that place October 13, 1857, a son of Samuel (a painter) and Abigail (HULLIGHEN) BLUE, natives of Pennsylvania and of Scotch and Irish origin. They had a family of six children, five of whom grew to adult age. Our subject, the youngest of the family, was educated in the schools of his native town. At the age of twelve he began clerking in a store, and at seventeen embarked in business for himself, keeping a flour and feed store. He has been very successful and is now one of the representative business men of Danville, having become such by his own exertions. He is a Democrat, and takes a lively interest in politics. In 1884, he married Miss Stella Scott BEAVER, daughter of Thomas W. BEAVER, and of English origin. They have one child, Isabel. Mrs. BLUE is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Danville. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 145)

DANIEL MONTGOMERY BOYD was born in Rush Township, Northumberland Co., Penn., within two miles of Danville on the "homestead farm." He is the son of John C. and Hannah M. BOYD. The former was a native of Chester County, Penn., and a son of Gen. John BOYD. He was a large owner of real estate, a prominent and active business man, and foremost in all the public enterprises of his day. His mother was a native of Danville, and daughter of Gen. Daniel Montgomery; both parents were of Scotch-Irish descent. Daniel Montgomery is the second in a family of eight children, seven of whom grew to maturity and attained prominence in business and social life of their native place. D. Montgomery BOYD acquired his education principally at the "Danville Academy," an institution founded and sustained largely by the liberality of Gen. William MONTGOMERY (one of his ancestors) and which held a prominent position in the educational institutions of its day, being thoroughly equipped and conducted by the best teachers. After completing his education and spending a year or two at his home in the country, he went with his father and family to Pottsville, Penn., where he, for a short time, engaged in the purchase and sale of coal. Soon after he became identified with the development of the Shamokin coal basin, in opening mines and building railroads. Becoming interested personally in coal lands, he with a partner opened one of the finest veins of coal and built one of the first improved coal breakers in that country; afterward became interested in mining and selling the same. In 1862 he was induced to go to Havre-de-Grace, Md., for the purpose of selling and shipping coal by vessel south, but later extended his operations with others to shipment of coal to points south and west. He remained here until 1881, when ill health forced him to retire from active business. He returned to Danville, where he became interested in the leading enterprises of the place, being president of the First National Bank, Danville, Penn., president of the board of trustees of the State Insane Hospital, president of the Nail Manufacturing Company, and other interests. He has always been willing to assist with his labor, influence and money, every public enterprise of Danville, and is one of the few who enjoy the fruits of his labor. He married in 1869, Miss Caroline A. BOCKINS, of Germantown, Penn., who died in 1876. His second marriage took place in 1878, with Miss Ida COTTRELL, of Columbia, Penn., who has borne him two children: Daniel Montgomery (deceased) and Elsie M. Mr. BOYD and family are members of the Presbyterian Church, of which he is a trustee. His politics are Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 145)

HON. DENNIS BRIGHT was born at the homestead in Valley Township, Montour (then Columbia) Co., Penn., March 22, 1839, the third child of Peter and Mary BRIGHT that grew to the age of maturity. His father, Peter BRIGHT, was born in Reading in 1801; his father, David BRIGHT, was born in Reading in 1771; his father Michael BRIGHT, was born in Lebanon county, and his grandfather, Michael BRIGHT immigrated to this country from the Palatinate in 1756; being of French or German origin. At that time there were but three counties in the province of Pennsylvania--Philadelphia, Bucks and Chester. Schaefferstown was in Chester County, and one of the oldest towns in the State, and the elder BRIGHT settled there when but twenty years of age. Our subject received an academic education, graduating from Pittsburgh Commercial College in 1856; he worked on his father's farm until the spring of 1861. He was in Indiana at the breaking out of the Rebellion, and on April 20, 1861, enlisted under the call for three months men: many more enlisted, however, than were needed to fill the Indiana quota, and his regiment was one of the number left out; they were, however, held in Indianapolis by Gov. Morton, in expectation of another call, and when the call for three years' men came, he was mustered into the United States service June 14, 1861, as first sergeant of Company A, Fifteenth Regiment Indiana Volunteers. The regiment, being already equipped and drilled, was immediately sent to the front, and took part in one of the first engagements of the war, fought at Rich Mountain, W. Va. After the retreat of the rebels the regiment was ordered in pursuit, and at a stand made by them at Elk Water, he was wounded by a musket-ball passing through his ankle, this preventing his doing active duty until the following spring, when he was ordered to join his command, with rank of captain, to serve on staff of Brig. Gen. George D. Wagner, having been successively promoted from first sergeant. His brigade had been transferred from Virginia to Kentucky to join the army of Gen. Buell, for the investment of Fort Henry and Fort Donelson. After participating in the capture of these forts the brigade joined the army of Gen. Grant, in Tennessee, and at the battle of Pittsburg Landing, Mr. BRIGHT received injuries to his wounded ankle which incapacitated him from further active service; he was detailed on garrison and provost duty, and after having served for two years, was discharged. After his return from the army he was appointed by the Government an assessor of internal revenue, and by Gov. Geary was appointed lieutenant-colonel Eighth Division National Guard of Pennsylvania. He has resided in Danville since the war, engaged in various vocations and is now in the hardware trade. In 1872 he represented this county in the State Legislature, being the first Republican holding that office from Montour County. He was married in 1872 to Lucy M. REAY. She was a native of England and a resident of San Francisco, to which place she removed with her relatives in childhood. Mr. BRIGHT's maternal ancestors were of Welsh origin, and settlers in Chester County, Penn., in 1730. Mr. and Mrs. BRIGHT have no children. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 145)

G. B. BROWN, merchant, Danville, was born in Columbia (now Montour) County, Penn., September 13, 1816, a son of Samuel and Dorothy (NEICE) BROWN, natives, respectively of England and Holland. The father was brought to America when a small child, by his parents, who settled in Columbia (now Montour) County in 1736. Subject's father and grandfather were both farmers, and both died in Columbia County, Penn. The grandparent was a prominent man, and served as magistrate many years, and in those early times a magistrate was a man of no small amount of authority. George B. is the eighth of nine children (all of whom grew to maturity), and was nine years of age when his father died. He remained with his mother on the farm until he was fourteen, meanwhile attending the district school, and then worked out on the farm until he was seventeen years old. He then clerked in a store in Mifflinville, Columbia County, until 1834. In that year he came to Danville and clerked for two years in a dry goods store, and later purchased the store of S. M. BOWMAN & Co., and conducted it four years, when he was sold out by the sheriff. His failure seems to have given him renewed energy, for he embarked in everything in which he could see an honest dollar, and at one time was operating nine different enterprises in Danville. In this way he paid off all back debts. the man who, in order to show a clear record and enjoy a peaceful conscience, will honor claims for which he is no longer legally responsible, must surely be an "honest man." He first opened a boarding house, to which he later added livery business; then studied dentistry, opened an office and practiced with success, and was among the most active business men of Danville. In 1856 he established his present business, dealing in books, stationery, artists' supplies, etc., and to him belongs the honor of circulating the first daily newspaper in Danville, a branch of his business which has steadily expanded. In 1837 he married Sarah A., daughter of John GEARHART, and of German origin. Four children have been born to them: Benton, Melissa D., John G. and Will G. Mr. and Mrs. BROWN are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of the building committee, of which he was a member. He is Republican in politics; has served twenty-one years as treasurer of the school board of Danville, and has been a member of the town council and burgess one term. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 146)

HON. THOMAS CHALFANT is descended on the paternal side from Robert CHALFANT, a member of the Society of Friends, who emigrated with William Penn from Stoke Pogis, England, and settled on a patent of land at Doe Run, Chester Co., Penn., which land is still in the family name. On the maternal side his ancestor is John PEDEN, a Scotch-Irish Covenanter, who immigrated to Pennsylvania in 1732, and was one of the first to found a Covenanter Church in Philadelphia, on Spruce Street, above Third. The subject of this sketch was born in Philadelphia, in the year 1819, and was brought up in that city. He learned the carpentering and pattern-making trades and worked thereat for some years. In 1847 he removed to Georgia, and was there engaged in the erection of sugar-mills, cotton-mills, and structures of a similar character. Subsequently he returned to the North and located at Danville, Penn., where he entered into partnership with his brother-in-law, Dr. Isaac HUGHES, in the drug business. October 1, 1853, he was commissioned postmaster at Danville. He held this position until July 15, 1861, when he assumed charge of the Danville Intelligencer, which he has conducted from that time to the present. June 28, 1863, Mr. CHALFANT entered the military service of the United States, and was commissioned captain of Company D, Fifty-third Regiment Pennsylvania Volunteers. He was mustered out on August 19, 1863. October 8, 1866, Mr. CHALFANT was elected a member of the State Legislature, as representative from the counties of Columbia and Montour. He was re-elected in 1867. During his incumbency of that office he was an active and highly esteemed member of the General Assembly, and was largely instrumental in the passage of a bill appointing commissioners to select a site for and erect a State hospital for the insane. The selection of Danville as the site for the hospital was also largely due to his efforts. In 1883 Mr. CHALFANT was appointed one of the trustees of the Danville Hospital, a position he yet holds through two subsequent re-appointments. In 1870 he was again chosen State senator, representing the counties of Columbia, Montour, Lycoming and Sullivan in the State senate, and served three years in that capacity. In 1842 Mr. CHALFANT was united in marriage with Eliza V. HUGHES, daughter of Ellis HUGHES, Esq., of Danville. The offspring of this marriage were two sons and two daughters, of whom none survive but the younger son, Charles, publisher of the Danville Daily Sun. In 1881 Mr. CHALFANT was elected president of the Pennsylvania State Editorial Association. He is at present postmaster at Danville, a position to which he was commissioned by President Cleveland in 1885. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 146)

B. A. CHILDS, merchant, Danville, was born in Valley Township, Montour (then Columbia) County, Penn., November 21, 1829, a son of James and Rachel (APPLEMAN) CHILDS, of German and Irish origin, respectively, whose ancestors were among the early settlers of Pennsylvania; the father, a farmer, was twice married. Our subject, the third of six children born to the first wife, was reared on the farm and attended school in his native township, and from his youth up was engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1854. He then moved to Danville, and was employed in the rolling-mills until 1880, when he obtained work in a stove and tinware store, and was employed in the mechanical department until 1885, when he embarked in business of a similar character for himself, and has met with success. He married, in Montour County, in 1853, Sarah, daughter of Robert RICHART, whose parents were natives, respectively, of Pennsylvania and New Jersey, and of English origin. Mr. and Mrs. CHILDS are the parents of two children: J. R. and Emily. Mr. and Mrs. CHILDS are members of the Methodist Church, of Danville. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 147)

DAVID CLARK, cashier of the Danville National Bank, was born in Pennsylvania, January 31, 1814, a son of John and Jane (CLARK) CLARK (no relation). Both his paternal and maternal ancestors were early settlers of Pennsylvania. His father was a saddler by trade, and his family consisted of seven children, of whom David is the youngest and the only one now living. He received his education in the common schools, and began life for himself by clerking in a store for a few years. He then embarked in the mercantile trade, keeping a general store until 1845, when he was elected justice of the peace. In 1850 he came to Danville, and clerked in the Danville bank, which institution he has served as cashier since 1864. He has been burgess of Danville; is a director of the nail works; politically he is a Republican. He has two children now living: Cordelia (wife of George M. GEARHART) and Mary (wife of William C. FRICK). (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 147)

JOSHUA WRIGHT COMLY, attorney at law, Danville, was born at Philadelphia, Penn., November 16, 1810, a son of Charles and Sarah (WRIGHT) COMLY. The father was a native of Pennsylvania, died January 9, 1840; the mother was born in New Jersey, and died March 4, 1879. They were married February 19, 1807, and eight children were born to them, six of whom arrived at maturity, but all are now deceased, except our subject and his brother. Joshua W. was reared in the Quaker faith, attended the schools of his neighborhood, and also Princeton College. In 1827 he began the study of law at Milton, Northumberland Co., Penn, in the office of Samuel HEPBURN, Esq., and three years later, November 17, 1830, was admitted to the court of common pleas of Northumberland County. In 1833 he was admitted to the supreme court of Pennsylvania, and has made law the business of his life. He practiced in three counties for many years, traveled and did a large practice in several other counties. In 1851 he was the Whig candidate for judge of the supreme court, and in May, 1882, retired. He is descendant of Henry and Joan COMLY, who with their son, Henry, came to America with William Penn. They were members of the Society of Friends. Henry, was a weaver by trade, settled in Bucks County, Penn. Charles COMLY (subject's father) is the son of Ezra COMLY, formerly of Philadelphia, and Hannah Iredel, his wife. Ezra was a son of Robert COMLY, late of Byberry, Philadelphia, and Sarah JONES, his wife. Robert COMLY was the son of Robert COMLY, Sr., and Jane CADWALLADER, his wife. Robert COMLY, Sr., was the second son of Henry COMLY of Bucks County, Penn., and Agnes HESTON, his wife. Henry COMLY was the son of Henry COMLY, Sr., and Jane his wife, who came from England to Pennsylvania in 1682. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 147)

E. W. CONKLING, senior member of the firm of CONKLING & Co., Danville, was born in New Jersey, August 2, 1819, a son of Isaac and Sarah (HALL) CONKLING, natives of New Jersey and of English descent. The father was a manufacturer, and his family consisted of four children, three of whom grew to maturity. E. W., the eldest child, at the age of sixteen entered Princeton College, from which he graduated in 1838. His first business was teaching, which he followed for seven years mostly in Danville Academy. He then went to New Jersey and taught school for two years, and, subsequently returning to Danville, was appointed county superintendent of public schools of Montour County, which position he held until 1849. He then embarked in the book and stationery business, which he has since continued. Mr. CONKLING has also been agent of the Howard Express and the Adams Express, the successor of the Howard, since 1843 continuously. Mr. CONKLING married in 1843 Margaret E. HIBLER, daughter of Jacob HIBLER, and of German descent. Mr. and Mrs. CONKLING are members of the Presbyterian Church. He is a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity, politically a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 148)

HON. JAMES CRUIKSHANK, of the firm of CRUIKSHANK & Co., Danville, was born in Berks County, Penn., September 18, 1836, a son of James and Margaret (McFARLAND) CRUIKSHANK, natives of Scotland. His father was an iron molder and came from Scotland to Philadelphia in 1830, where he worked at his trade for a time. Our subject is the eldest of five children, and received his education in the common schools. In 1837 he was brought by his parents to Pottsville, where he was reared. In early life he learned the trade of iron molder, at which he worked until coming to Danville in 1873, and soon after embarked in his present business. The firm is among the most flourishing in Danville and its members are all energetic and enterprising. They divide the business and each is eminently fitted for the department under his care. Mr. CRUIKSHANK may usually be found in the shop, where from forty to sixty men are employed. Politically Mr. CRUIKSHANK is a Republican, and in 1875 and 1876 represented Montour County in the State Legislature; is now a member of the water committee of the borough of Danville. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the I. O. O. F. Encampment, also K. of P., and has served as Past Master in three secret societies. In 1856 he married Sarah J., daughter of Joseph WALTON. She is of English descent; has borne her husband five children: Ida M., wife of John F. MILLER; William; John C.; Emma F. and Charles W. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 148)

ROBERT CURRY (deceased) is numbered among the earliest settlers of this part of Pennsylvania. He was born in the North of Ireland, June 9, 1741; educated in the schools of his native country, where his father was a well-to-do linen manufacturer. He immigrated to America in 1772, settling on Mahoning Creek, in what is now Valley Township, Montour Co., Penn., and there followed farming. He was killed and scalped by the Indians June 9, 1780. He was a Presbyterian in religious belief and was one of the first to give his money and influence toward the propagation of the gospel in these parts, and was also trustee of his church. He married Miss Jane McWILLIAMS in Belfast, Ireland, and four children were born to them: James, who was born in Ireland, grew to manhood and settled in Ohio; Robert, who settled on the north branch of the Susquehanna River; William, who settled on the home place in Valley Township, Columbia Co., Penn., and Jane, the first white child born between the north and west branches of the Susquehanna River, married to Robert McWILLIAMS. The sons were well-to-do farmers, noted for their honesty and integrity. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 148)

THOMAS C. CURRY, of CRUIKSHANK, Mayer & Co., owners and proprietors of the Enterprise Foundry and Machine Shops, Ferry Street, Danville, is a grandson of Robert CURRY, whose sketch appears above. He and two sisters reside in Danville, Robert in an adjoining county, Hugh in Michigan, William in Kentucky. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 148)

JAMES F. DEEN, Danville, is a native of that place, born September 1, 1816, a son of John and Susan (McBRIDE) DEEN, natives of Pennsylvania. His father came to Danville in 1790, and was one of the first blacksmiths of the place. James F. is the fourth of eight children, was reared and educated in Danville, followed the blacksmith's trade with his father, and worked at the trade altogether for fifty-three years. April 3, 1839, he commenced the business of blacksmithing for himself, and on the 8th of August following moved to North Danville, occupying as a residence the first house built on the new town erected a blacksmith shop in which he began work January 2, 1840. In the fall of 1846 he purchased and built on ground, adjoining, a machine ship and foundry with other necessary buildings, in which he operated until 1847, when he moved to East Boston, Mass., where he remained until January, 1849, doing all of the wrought iron work for a large rolling-mill. He then returned to his old business at Danville, and in May, 1856, moved to Selin's Grove, where he built a foundry, machine shop, etc., and followed the business until 1858, when he moved to Sunbury, and there for five years did the repairing for the North Central Railroad. In 1862 he returned to his native place, which has since been his home, being occupied at the smith business until 1886, since which time he has been engaged in farming. During his long and active business career Mr. DEEN did much work in his line. To him is given the credit of doing the iron work in the first steam grist-mill built in Danville in 1839; did the smith work for large blast furnaces and much of the work for the large rolling-mill of the Montour Company. He owns valuable town property and a farm in Montour County, also a farm of 150 acres in Maury County, Tenn. He married, February 21, 1839, Margaret, daughter of Henry SAUNDERS, a shoemaker by trade. Mrs. DEEN was born July 31, 1820, is of German origin and the mother of eight children: John Henry, born January 2, 1840 (deceased); Martha Jane, born November 8, 1842 (deceased); Mary D., born November 9, 1844; John S., born in November, 1847; Alvaretta F., born March 23, 1850; Laura V., born July 31, 1853; Margaret E., born April 13, 1859; Elmer, born November 23, 1861, died September 26, 1863. Mr. and Mrs. DEEN are members of the Presbyterian Church. Politically he is a Republican. He is a member of the I. O. O. F. and of the Masonic fraternity, and served seven years as a member of a rifle company in the militia at Danville. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 148)

PERRY DEEN, dealer in iron, P. O. Danville, was born in Danville, Penn., July 26, 1826, son of John and Mary (FLACK) DEEN, who were natives of Pennsylvania. His father was of Scotch and his mother of Irish origin. John DEEN was among the earliest blacksmiths of Danville, but in later life was a farmer. His family consisted of eight children, seven of whom lived to be grown. Our subject was the seventh in the family, and learned the tanner's trade early in life, which he followed for thirteen years, when he commenced to deal in scrap iron. In 1871 at the time when the co-operative Iron Rolling Mill Company was organized he was elected its president, and as such served three years; he then engaged in the lumber business for a time, also dealt in scrap iron, in which later business he has ever since continued. He has been twice married, first to Miss Mary J., daughter of Robert RICHARD; her parents were born in New Jersey and were of German origin. The children born to this union were John R. and Harriet. Mrs. DEEN died in 1860, and March 28, 1865, Mr. DEEN married Mary J., daughter of George and Elizabeth FULLMER; she is of German descent. Their children are Helen E., Mary, Sarah W. and Thomas E. The family are members of the Episcopal Church. In politics Mr. DEEN is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 149)

F. C. DERR, merchant, Danville, was born in Moreland, Lycoming Co., Penn., July 29, 1836. His parents, Christopher and Mary (OPP) DERR, were natives of the Keystone State and descendants of English and German ancestors. Mr. DERR is the ninth in a family of ten children. He spent his boyhood on a farm with his parents, and, in common with country boys of the time, his early educational advantages were limited to the district school. At the age of eighteen he entered the academy at McEwensville, Northumberland County. Later he became a student at Bucknell University, Lewisburg. He left this institution in his sophomore year and entered the University of Rochester, N. Y., where he graduated in 1860. In an academy near his alma mater, Mr. DERR entered upon his chosen profession. In 1862 he returned to his native State and accepted the position of the principal of the Danville High School. At the head of this institution he remained for twenty-one years. He soon popularized himself by elevating the high school to a degree of excellence seldom attained to in a country town. Possessing, in addition to a vast store of knowledge, the faculty of bringing himself into a happy fellowship with the young in their aims and aspirations, he at once endeared himself to his pupils and impressed them with his rare ability as a teacher. Mr. DERR now finds himself surrounded in all circles by those who were his pupils at one time or another during his long career as a teacher. It would be difficult, indeed, to limit the extent to which Danville is indebted to him for its mental culture. In 1881 he received the appointment as school superintendent of Montour County. His term of office was marked by a gradual improvement in the schools under his charge, besides the unusually pleasant relations existing between the teachers and superintendent. In 1882 he went into the boot and shoe business, in Danville, taking as a partner William LUNGER. The confidence reposed in him as a teacher was now transferred to him as a merchant, and at no time was the firm of DERR & LUNGER without a liberal portion of the town's patronage. In 1887 he and Mr. LUNGER dissolved partnership, Mr. DERR assuming the whole business and continuing on at the old stand. In 1872 he married Martha B. BOWYER, daughter of John BOWER of Danville. This union has been blessed with one child, a son, named Clarence F. Mr. DERR is Knight Templar, a member of the Danville Lodge; No. 224, F. & A. M., and of the Holy Royal Arch Chapter, No. 239. He is a Republican in politics. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 149)

ALEXANDER M. DIEHL, grocer, Danville, was born December 11, 1848, in Danville, Penn., a son of Joseph and Elizabeth (VORIS) DIEHL, natives of Pennsylvania. His paternal and maternal ancestors were among the earliest settlers of Pennsylvania. His parents were among the early residents of Danville, and his father, who was a contractor and builder, was superintendent of the erection of the Grove Presbyterian Church. Alexander M. is the only son in a family of six children, five of whom grew to maturity. He was reared in Danville and educated at the Academy at that place. He first clerked in the office of WATERMAN & BEAVER, extensive iron manufacturers, with whom he remained eleven years. He then traveled two years for a grocery house in Philadelphia. In 1879 he established the New York Tea Store in Danville and subsequently added groceries to his stock. He is a liberal advertiser and has met with success in his enterprise. He acquired his business education at the Quaker City College, where he graduated in 1865. May 22, 1871, he married Jessie KROTHE, of German origin, and a daughter of Querin and Susan (LATIMER) KROTHE. This union has been blessed with two children, Ralph BEAVER and Estella B. (deceased). Mrs. DIEHL is a member of the Episcopal Church. Mr. DIEHL is a member of the I. O. O. F. and of the K. of P., in which he has been District Deputy. He does not affiliated with any political party. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 151)

HENRY EARP, coal dealer, Danville, was born in England, September 25, 1838, a son of William and Ann (TANDY) EARP, also natives of England, where the father was engaged in a rolling-mill for many years; later he immigrated to America, and in 1845 settled in Danville, where he commenced working at the same business, and helped to make the first railroad iron in Danville. He was born in 1806, and died at the age of seventy-two, in Danville, where he commenced work in the rolling-mills when quite young. He worked on contract, and by economy saved enough to enable him to embark in the coal business in 1882. He does a general retail business, bringing most of the coal by was of the canal, buying so as to sell at the lowest possible price. His gentlemanly deportment and accommodating disposition have brought him many customers, represents the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company. He married, in 1861, Anna, daughter of Benjamin ALWARD. She is of English origin, and her grandfather, one of the early settlers in this county, was its first sheriff, and for years justice of the peace. Politically he was a Democrat, until the breaking out of the war. Mr. and Mrs. EARP are members of the Episcopal Church, in which he is warden and also choir master. He is a Republican in politics, has served as member of the election board, is a member of the Masonic fraternity, of the I. O. O. F., Calumet Lodge, No. 279, and also of the K. of L., of Danville. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 152)

RICHARD W. EGGERT, editor and proprietor of the Gem, was born in Danville, Penn., November 2, 1839, a son of Xavier and Mary Anna (SMITH) EGGERT. His father was born in Baden-Baden, Germany, and his mother in Ithaca, N. Y., of French, English and German origin. The former was a watchmaker, and also dealt, for many years in Danville, in watches and jewelry. Richard W. is the second of seven children; he was educated in Danville, and in early life learned the printer's trade, which he has made the business of his life. He learned the printing business in the office of the Hon. V. BEST, who was United States senator, and has filled all the different positions from apprentice to editor and proprietor of a paper. He has published several papers in Danville, especially valuable for their local department, and is an excellent compositor. His latest journalistic venture, the Gem, has a larger circulation in Danville than any other paper published in Montour County. In 1863 he enlisted in Battery F, Second Pennsylvania Heavy Artillery, or the One Hundred and Twelfth Regiment of Infantry, and served with honor until the close of the war. He is a member of the G. A. R., K. of P. and the M. B. of B. Politically he is independent. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 152)

JOSEPH FLANAGAN, brickmaker, Danville, was born in Snyder County, Penn., October 14, 1819, a son of James and Nancy (SRONTZ) FLANAGAN, of German and Irish origin, respectively. The father was also a brickmaker by occupation, and died in 1831. Joseph, the eldest of five children, was reared on the farm in Northumberland County, and learned his trade with his father. He opened a brickyard in Northumberland County over forty years ago, and has since made the manufacture of brick his main business, and followed it in Danville for over thirty years, meeting with success. He also dealt in merchandise, and owned a general store in Danville. In 1842 he married Catherine, daughter of Charles WHITE. The latter was also a brickmaker, and of Irish origin. To Mr. and Mrs. FLANAGAN five children were born, two of whom are now living (three having died in infancy): Laura, wife of I. T. PATTON, a merchant of Danville, who was born in that place June 5, 1843, to John and Nancy (BASSETT) PATTON, of English and Scotch origin. Mr. PATTON enlisted, in 1864, in Company C, One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and participated in several hard-fought battles. He is a graduate of commercial college of Philadelphia, of the class of 1856. Mr. and Mrs. PATTON have five children: Joseph F., Harry B., John, Florence, May and Maggie. Mr. and Mrs. FLANAGAN's second child is Gertrude, now the wife of Thomas ELLIS, agent for the Catawissa Railroad at this place. Mr. GLANAGAN is a republican; has been assessor, school director and member of the town council of Danville. He is Past Grand in the I. O. O. F. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 152)

JAMES FOSTER, secretary of the Danville Stove Works, was born in the North of Ireland, March, 18, 1842. His father, Thompson FOSTER, who was a blacksmith, emigrated from Ireland to America in 1847, settling first in Pittsburgh, Penn., subsequently moving to Danville, where he resided about thirty years, and is now a resident of Philadelphia. James, the third of seven children, spent most of his life in Danville, where he received his education, and learned the blacksmith's trade with his father. Later he commenced work in the rolling-mills, which was his chief employment for about twenty years. When the Danville Stove Works were organized, the company elected him its secretary and treasurer, and as such he still serves. In 1862 he enlisted in Company A, One Hundred and Thirty-second Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and was wounded in his first battle at Antietam. He remained with the regiment, however, and participated in the battles of Chancellorsville and Fredericksburg, and at the expiration of his term of service, re-enlisted, this time in the One Hundred and Ninety-fourth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, and was elected first lieutenant, served his term, hundred days, and was discharged in 1865. In 1866 he enlisted in the Two Hundred and Fourteenth Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, which was the last regiment discharged from Pennsylvania. Politically Mr. FOSTER is a Republican, and has served as chairman of the water-works, and chief burgess of Danville. In 1864 he married Mary GULICK, a native of Danville, of English origin, and their children are John, Elizabeth, Jennie and Alexander. Mr. and Mrs. Foster are members of St. Paul Methodist Church, of which denomination he has been trustee. He has served four years as District Deputy of the I. O. O. F., Montour County Lodge, No. 279, and one term as commander of the G. A. R. Post at Danville. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 152)

JAMES O. FRAZIER, sheriff, Danville, was born in Danville, Montour Co., Penn., December 9, 1845; a son of Daniel FRAZIER, a farmer, who was elected sheriff in 1850, and was the first to be elected to that office in this county; he and his wife were natives, respectively, of Montour and Schuylkill Counties, Penn., and of Scotch-Irish and German origin. They were the parents of seven children, four now living. They moved to Washingtonville; attended the schools of Danville, and in early life followed farming until he was nominated on the Republican ticket and elected sheriff of Montour County in the fall of 1885, the only Republican ever elected to the office in Montour County. He married, in 1874, Mary, daughter of Jacob MARTZ, and of German origin. She is the mother of the following named children: Alice E., Daniel, Clarence W. and James O. Mrs. FRAZIER is a member of the Lutheran Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 153)

WILLIAM F. GEARHART, real estate agent and farmer, P. O. Riverside, Northumberland Co., Penn., was born August 17, 1824, to Herman and Abigal (BAYLOR) GEARHART, natives of Pennsylvania and early settlers of Rush Township. The grandfather, Jacob G., was a captain in the Revolutionary war and participated in the battle of Monmouth, where he was wounded; soon after that struggle he came to Northumberland County and entered land where the borough of Riverside is now located and where William F. resides. Herman GEARHART was a blacksmith and his brother, Jacob, was associate judge of Northumberland County. William F. is one of a family of twelve children, all of whom grew to maturity, and acquired his education in Danville and in early life clerked in a store in that place, and later went to California (in 1852), where he remained four years in the mining country. In the fall of 1856 he returned to Pennsylvania, spent the winter in Danville, and in the spring returned to the West, traveling through Utah, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, California and Wyoming. In 1869 he returned to Danville and has since divided most of the old farm, on the Susquehanna River, opposite Danville, into town lots, which will in all probability be the residence part of Danville for the wealthier class. The lands lie high from the river, with an easy elevation, and command a fine view of Danville. Mr. GEARHART also offers good inducements to a manufacturing company who will start a manufactory on that side of the river. He was a member of the I. O. O. F., Past Grand; politically he is a Democrat. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 153)

B. R. GEARHART, cashier of the First National Bank, Danville, was born in Northumberland County, Penn., August 20, 1843, a son of B. R. and Elizabeth (BOYD) GEARHART, natives of Pennsylvania, the latter of Irish origin. The father, who was of German descent, was a physician, and for many years successfully practiced his profession in Danville, where he died at the age of forty-two, the father of nine children, six of whom are living. Our subject received a limited education in the common schools and at the age of ten years went to York County, Penn., where he clerked in a store at Wrightsville for four years. He was then sent to learn the carpenter's trade, but thinking that telegraphy would be more congenial to his tastes, he commenced the study of the latter with a determination to succeed, and soon became a proficient operator. He worked at that art five years in Danville, dividing his time between Lackawanna and Catawissa Companies, and earned such a reputation for industry and promptness that the corporation of the First National Bank of Danville were induced to elect him teller in 1866. That position he held until 1870, when he was promoted cashier, which office he still fills. He married in 1872, Louise, daughter of Samuel YORK, and of English origin. Two children have been born to them: Anna and Robert. Mr. and Mrs. GEARHART are members of grove Presbyterian Church, of which he is a trustee, and has served as treasurer of the building committee. He is a Republican; has been a member of the town council of Danville. He is a Knight Templar. He enlisted in 1863 in Company D, under Col. RAMSEY, and served his full term of enlistment. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 153)

WILSON M. GEARHART, prothonotary and clerk of courts, P. O. Danville, was born in Northumberland County, Penn., January 23, 1846, a son of John (a farmer) and Martha (MARTIN) GEARHART. His parents were born in Pennsylvania, of German descent on his father's and of Irish on his mother's side; they reared two children, a son and a daughter. Of these, our subject is the younger. He grew to adult age on the farm in Northumberland County, obtained his early education with his parents on the far, and subsequently attended the Danville Institute; also Dickinson Seminary at Williamsport, where he graduated in the classical course in 1865. He then engaged as a teacher for two years; and from 1868 to 1872, was employed as bookkeeper and timekeeper in one of the large manufacturing companies of Danville, which then employed 1,700 men. He then embarked in the machinery business, gas-fitting and plumbing, at which he was engaged until elected to his present position as prothonotary and clerk of the courts of Montour until elected to his present position as prothonotary and clerk of the courts of Montour County, in 1875, and has since filled the office. He is a Republican, has served as a member of the school board, eight years, and is the present chairman of the finance committee. He takes an active interest in the leading secret societies and has prominently identified himself with them; has taken nearly all the degrees in Masonry. Mr. GEARHART was married in Danville, in 1867, to Miss M. Jennie BEAVER, daughter of Jesse BEAVER, who is of German origin. Their children are J. BEAVER, Lois M., Emeline S. Mr. and Mrs. GEARHART are members of the Methodist Church. He has been steward, trustee and Sabbath-school superintendent; is president of the Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle of the State of Pennsylvania; is also vice-president of the Mountain Grove Camp-meeting Association, and has the general charge of the railroad rates for the meeting. He enlisted in the Union Army in June, 1863; was assigned to duty in the provost marshal's department at Washington, D. C., and resigned the same year to complete his studies. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 153)

EDWARD SAYRE GEARHART, attorney, Danville, is a son of Mayberry and Mary Catharine GEARHART, the former of Quaker, and the latter of Puritan descent. He is one of seven children, as follows: William G. (deceased): Sophie R., wife of Col. Charles W. ECKMAN, of Reading, Penn.; Clarence F., of Cresswell, Neb.; Minnie, wife of Henry M. HINCKLEY, Esq., of Danville, Penn.; Boone, wife of William VASTINE, and George S., of Catawissa, Penn. The subject of this sketch, the next to the youngest of the sons, was born at Roaringcreek, Montour Co., Penn., March 28, 1856. He lived at Roaringcreek, working on his father's farm in the summer and attending the neighboring public school in the winter until he was over fourteen years of age, when he went Danville and entered the National Iron Company's machine shops at that place as an apprentice. After completing his full term of apprenticeship as a machinist, in the fall of 1875 he entered Wyoming Seminary at Kingston, Penn., as a student, and graduated the following year. In the fall of 1876 he entered Princeton College, New Jersey, as a student, and graduated in the class of 1880. While a student at Princeton he took an active part in the politics of that State and made political speeches in behalf of the Republican ticket. During the last years of his collegiate course he read law with the Hon. John F. HAGERMAN, master in chancery for the State of New Jersey. After his graduation he returned to Danville, Penn., and entered as a student of law in the office of Messrs. GRIER & HINCKLEY, and was admitted to the Montour County bar in 1881. In the presidential campaign of 1880 he stumped a portion of the State of Garfield, for whom he cast his first presidential vote, and in 1882 for the regular Republican nominee for governor. He was a delegate to the Republican State Convention which met at Harrisburg, Penn., in 1883. May 30, 1883, he delivered the memorial oration at Gettysburg, and on the same occasion, the year following, delivered the oration of the day at Antietam. He was also the orator of the day at Washington, D. C., at the memorial services in 1885, and has delivered many other orations of various kinds on numerous occasions. At the inauguration of the presidential campaign of 1884, at the personal request of Gen. John A. Logan, he was appointed a national Republican orator by the Republican National Committee, and under its direction he canvassed several States, principal of which were Ohio and Indiana, closing the campaign in Philadelphia. He has never sought nor held any public office, and no position of private trust, except as president of the Lochiel Iron and Steel Works at Harrisburg, Penn., which position he has held from the time of its incorporation. Since his admission to the bar in 1881, he has closely applied himself to the practice of his profession in his own and in various others counties of the State. On the 5th of may, 1886, he married Miss Ella R. CREVELING, daughter of Alfred CREVELING, general manager of the Lochiel Iron & Steel Works at Harrisburg, Penn. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 154)

GEORGE F. GEISINGER, (deceased) was born in Massachusetts in 1821, a son of Commodore David GEISINGER. At the age of sixteen years he left school in Boston for Baltimore, to take a situation in a mercantile house there. He accompanied his father to the Mediterranean in 1844 and returned to Baltimore in 1846. In 1847 he went to South America, where he remained until 1849, when he went to California. In 1851 he joined his father in Philadelphia, and from that time until 1854 was his secretary at the naval asylum. He came to Danville in June, 1855, and was employed as bookkeeper for Groves & Bro., iron manufacturers, and subsequently occupied the same position with Thomas BEAVER & Co., also engaged in the iron business. Later he took an interest in the firm, which was very successful, and was bookkeeper in their office in all over twenty-four years. He made his own way in the world, and by energy and perseverance succeeded in amassing a competency. His life is an illustration of what a man may accomplish in a few years. In 1866 he married Abigal A. CORNELISON, who survives him. Mr. GEISINGER died in 1883, a member of the Mahoning Presbyterian Church, of which he was trustee, and of which his widow is still a member. Politically, he was a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 154)

JOHN K. GERINGER, proprietor of the City Hotel, Danville, was born in Montour County, Penn., August 2, 1852, a son of Adam and Angeline (SMITH) GERINGER, natives of Pennsylvania, former (a miller by trade) of English origin, and latter of German. Adam GERINGER commenced the hotel business in 1853, and in 1855 opened a hotel in Mausdale, this county, which he conducted until 1870. He then came to Danville, bought the White Swan Hotel, and in 1872 moved it to the rear and erected the commodious brick structure now known as the City Hotel. This building is 41x80 feet, three stories high, and contains a large number of sleeping chambers, nicely furnished and well ventilated. The dining-room is eighty feet in length, with every modern convenience for the accommodation of a large number of guests. Mr. Adam GERINGER died in 1881, and since that time the hotel has been conducted by his son, John K. the subject of this sketch is the third of seven children: was reared and educated in his native county, and spent the most of his life in hotels. October 24, 1874, he married, in Montour County, Laura J., daughter of John DILDINE, of Montour County, and three children have been born to their union: Laura K., William and Nellie. Mrs. GERINGER is a member of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. GERINGER is a Democrat, and has been a delegate to the county and State conventions of his party; also served as a member of council of Danville. He is a Sir Knight Templar. The "City Hotel: is in the central part of the town, in the business portion, and presents many attractions to the public. It is well known and liberally patronized. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 155)

S. M. GIBBS, principal of the high school, Danville, was born in Lansing, Tompkins Co., N. Y., July 27, 1836, a son of William and Margaret (MINIER) GIBBS, natives of New York and of Scotch-Irish and German origin. When S. M., the elder of two children, was twelve years old his father moved to Cameron, Steuben Co., N. Y. Our subject was educated at the Wesleyan Seminary, Lima, N. Y., and at Alfred University in the same State. He commenced teaching at fourteen years of age, which has been his principal occupation since, eight years of which time he taught at Danville. He has taught in several high schools and seminaries in New York and Pennsylvania. He enlisted in the service during the war, but was granted a special discharge on furnishing a substitute to complete his term of enlistment. He has a wife, Mary T. GIBBS, and four children. He and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 155)

JOHN H. GOESER, wholesale dealer in cigars, tobacco and vinegar, and agent for ocean steamship lines, Danville, was born in that place June 1, 1852, a son of Anthony and Catherine (SHUMACHER) GOESER, natives of Prussia. His father was a hotel-keeper, but spent the most of his life in America, crossing the ocean five times. In 1842 he settled in Danville, where he followed hotel-keeping for many years and died in 1880. John H. is the only son, and was reared in Danville, where he was educated. In early life he embarked in the tobacco business, which has since grown to be quite extensive. In 1878 he married Miss Theresa, daughter of Joseph LIEBNER, of Pottsville. Mr. and Mrs. GOESER are members of the Catholic Church and the parents of one child, Coletta Emma. Politically Mr. GOESER is a Democrat. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 155)

GEORGE J. GRAUEL, M. D. Danville, was born in Fulda, Germany, May 26, 1825, came to America in 1853, and located in Danville in 1862. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 155)

I. X. GRIER, attorney, Danville, was born in that place December 27, 1835, a son of Michael and Isabella (MONTGOMERY) GRIER, the latter a daughter of Alexander Montgomery and granddaughter of Gen. William MONTGOMERY, the founder of Danville. Michael GRIER was a merchant in early life; later superintended the erection of telegraph lines, and died December 25, 1879. His family consisted of five children, who grew to adult age: W. A. M., a resident of Brooklyn, N. Y.; Rev. John B., a Presbyterian minister; H. J., the wife of John C. YOUNGMAN, a banker in Kansas; Mary G., wife of Edwin C. ELY, of Peoria, Ill., and I. X. Our subject was educated in the schools of Danville and also at Lafayette College, from which he graduated in 1858. Prior to entering college and after graduating he was connected with the Susquehanna River Telegraph Company, and at the time of its construction, opened a number of offices and instructed operators at the respective places. He later served as secretary and treasurer of the company until it was merged into the Western Union. He read law in the office of E. H. BALDY, Esq., and was admitted to the bar in 1861, practiced in the courts of Montour and adjoining counties, and in the United States courts until 1884, when failing health obliged him to relinquish his labors. He was notary public from 1862 until 1880, and was a member of the firm of MARKLE, GRIER & Co., who for about two years conducted a railroad-iron mill at Danville. Mr. GRIER is at present a director of the First National Bank of Danville, of the North Branch Steel Company, of the Danville Bridge Company and of the Mahoning Rolling Mill Company. He married in 1865 Emma W., daughter of Hon. James M. PORTER, of Easton, Penn., and two children have been born to them; J. M. PORTER and Isabella L. Hon. Mr. PORTER was at one time Secretary of War; was president judge of Northampton County, and an eminent attorney. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 155)

R. M. GROVE, manufacturer, Danville, was born in Lebanon County, Penn., October 28, 1847, a son of Michael J. and Catherine (HOUTZ) GROVE, natives of Pennsylvania, whose ancestors were among the early German settlers of the State. His father was an iron manufacturer, dealt largely in iron ore lands, and was among the first to foresee the possibilities of the iron industry at Danville. Here, for many years, he and his brother were extensive manufacturers and amassed a large fortune, consisting of iron and iron ore lands located in several States and Canada. They built a large furnace in Danville, and erected a mansion at a cost of $200,000, which is still occupied by the family. Michael J. died in 1877, in Danville, where he had resided since 1851. His family consisted of two sons: John H., the elder, is a resident of Danville, and devotes his time to scientific investigations. Our subject, the youngest son, was reared in Danville, where he received his early education; later he entered Yale College, New Haven, Conn., from which he graduated in 1867. He then returned to Danville and entered the office of his father and uncle to learn the iron business, which at the death of his father was left to our subject and his brother, John H., who have since conducted it. Mr. GROVE is a director of the First National Bank of Danville, and is also a director and treasurer of the Danville Nail & Manufacturing Company. In 1877 he married Margaret, daughter of Samuel YORKS, and two children have blessed their union: Mary Catherine and Margaret Louise. Mrs. GROVE is a member of the Presbyterian Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 156)

CHARLES P. HANCOCK, merchant, Danville, of which place he is a native, was born February 5, 1860, a son of William and Mary (REAY) HANCOCK, former a native of England, later of Maryland, both of English descent. Their family consisted of three children, of whom our subject is the eldest. His father was employed in iron works in his native country, and after his arrival in America engaged first in the Montour Iron Works. In 1874 he formed a partnership with John FOLEY, and established the "Rough and Ready Rolling Mill," and afterward became its owner. Subsequently a stock company was formed, and the name of the business was changed to the "National Iron Works," and Mr. HANCOCK was chosen president of the company. He was a successful business man, very popular with all those with whom he associated. He died in Danville, and will long be remembered by those who shared his friendship and enjoyed his favor. Our subject was reared in Danville, where he received his education, and where in early life he engaged for three years in the dry goods business as salesman. Later he was employed in a similar capacity at Scranton, and in this capacity has few equals in middle Pennsylvania. He inherits his father's gentlemanly demeanor and upright business habits, which naturally bring him a liberal patronage. His dry goods store, which is the largest in that line in Danville, is conducted on first-class principles, and affords employment to six clerks. Mr. HANCOCK opened his establishment in 1884, and has since built up a large trade. He is yet unmarried, is a member of the Heptasophs Society, and secretary of the Merchants Protective Society of Danville. Politically he is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 156)

FREDERICK HELD, boot and shoe dealer, Danville, was born in Germany June 12, 1840, son of Peter and Catherine (KOPP) HELD, natives of Germany, where the father was a laborer. Frederick is the eldest of four children and was reared by his parents in Germany, where he acquired his education. In 1864 he came to America and in 1865 to Danville, where he worked at boot and shoe-making which he still follows, having learned the trade in Germany. By economy and good management he has succeeded in acquiring a competency, owning two houses and lots and the storeroom in which he carries on his business. In 1863 he married Miss Minnie (daughter of John Adam LUCKHARDT) who bore him one son, Jacob, and who died in 1867. He married as his second wife Christina KUGLER, of German origin, who has borne him the following named children: Amelia, Elizabeth, Anna and Peter Frederick. Mr. and Mrs. HELD are consistent members of the Lutheran Church, in which he is elder. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 156)

WILLIAM HENRIE (deceased) was a native of New Jersey, born in 1799, of English origin. He grew to manhood in his native State where he received his education in the common schools, and afterward followed the milling business for several years. His family consisted of eight children, five of whom are now living. Mr. HENRIE came to Danville, Penn., about 1833, and kept hotel until his death in 1876. He was a Democrat until 1856, after which he voted with the Republican party; served as a member of the town council, and also as burgess of Danville. Two of his daughters are now residents of Danville; one is the wife of J. C. RHODES, and the other the wife of R. H. WOOLLEY, a successful coal dealer. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 156)

H. M. HINCKLEY, attorney, Danville, was born in Harrisburg, Penn., June 2, 1850; a son of Joel and Theodosia (GRAYDON) HINCKLEY. His mother was also a native of the same State and of Scotch-Irish origin; his father, born in Vermont, of English origin, was hardware merchant, engaged in mercantile business all his life. His family consisted of eight children, three of whom grew to maturity. Our subject, who is the only one now surviving, received the rudiments of his education in his native town, and subsequently attended Princeton College, where he graduated in the regular course in the class of 1874, and during his last years in college had found time to study law and also keep up with his classes. In the year 1872, he took up the study of law in the offices of his after partner in business, I. X. GRIER, of Danville, and was admitted to practice in the courts of Montour County in 1875, and to the supreme court in 1878. He has since met with marked success and is numbered among the leading men of his profession in Montour County. He was united in marriage, in 1874, with Miss Amelia, daughter of Mayberry GEARHART. Her parents were members of the Society of Friends and of German descent. The children of Mr. and Mrs. HINCKLEY are Sarah G., John M., Eleanor G. and Edna. The parents are members of the Presbyterian Church, in which Mr. HINCKLEY is elder and trustee, taking an active interest in the Sabbath-school, in which he has been superintendent for several years. He is a Republican, but takes no very active part in politics, preferring to devote his time to his profession. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 156)

NICHOLAS HOFER, retired carpenter, contractor, lumber dealer, etc., Danville, was born September 14, 1823, in Baden, Germany, where he received his education. He is the eldest of five children, and early in life served a regular apprenticeship at the carpenter's trade, which he followed in his native country until 1852. He then took passage for America to seek his fortune, landing in New York City, where he worked for four weeks. Thence he went to Newark, N. J., where he first worked for 75 cents a day, then $1 and later $1.50. It was there he met Miss Clara WITZ, whom he married in 1854, and who was also born in Baden, Germany. In 1855 they came to Danville, Penn., and on arriving, found their funds exhausted, and were $5 in debt besides. Mr. HOFER soon found work at his trade, his diligence, industry and knowledge of his business soon bringing him custom. He first worked by the day; then contracted, erecting many of the residences of Danville, and carried on business successfully and extensively for years, and finally added the lumber trade. His only child, Edward, is at present a carpenter and contractor, having learned the trade with his father, and also owns and operates the lumber yard at Danville. Mr. HOFER has retired from active duties, having accumulated a goodly share of this world's goods, and whatever efforts he now makes are for the benefit of his only son, who resides near his parents and is doing well. Mr. HOFER is a Democrat, and has been a member of the town council of Danville; is a member of the K. of P. and I. O. O> F. societies, both of the encampment and subordinate lodges, and is a member also of the Masonic fraternity. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 157)

W. K. HOLLOWAY, superintendent of the store of the Montour Iron & Steel Company, Danville, was born in Berks County, Penn., January 1, 1835, a son of Samuel (a farmer) and Sarah (KIRLING) HOLLOWAY, natives of Berks County, Penn., and of English origin. Our subject was reared on the farm, and attended the common schools of his native county. Not liking farming, he obtained, in his thirteenth year, a position as clerk in a store in Reading, Penn., where he remained one year; was then employed at other work until coming to Danville, in 1856, when he clerked another year, and was then promoted to time-keeper and superintendent of accounts. He was next promoted to cashier, which responsible position he filled for twelve years, and in 1878 was made general superintendent of the store. The importance of this trust can be better realized when it is considered that the annual sales of this business run as high as $500,000, and its success is very largely due to Mr. HOLLOWAY's complete system and exact business management, he having been engaged in almost all the departments of the store for over thirty years. He married, in 1859, Ruth, daughter of Jacob YEAGER, of Columbia County, Penn., and they have five children: Sally, Lizzie, William, Thomas Beaver and Mary. Mrs. HOLLOWAY and eldest daughter are members of the Presbyterian Church. Mr. HOLLOWAY is a Republican, a member of the town council of Danville, and chairman of the water committee. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 157)

F. P. HOWE, president of the North Branch Steel Works, Danville, was born in Philadelphia, Penn., September 19, 1852, a son of Bishop Mark Anthony De Wolfe HOWE and Elizabeth (MARSHALL) HOWE, the former a native of Rhode Island, and the latter of Virginia, both of English origin. The father is the Episcopal bishop of the diocese of central Pennsylvania. F. P. is the fourth in a family of six children. Our subject attended school in his native city of Philadelphia until fifteen years of age, when he entered Brown University, Providence, R. I., where he graduated in the regular classical course with the degree of A. M. He was then engaged in the office of the rolling-mills of the Philadelphia & Reading Railroad Company for three years, and at the expiration of that time entered Lehigh University, and took a full course in mining engineering, graduating in 1878. He was again employed by the Rolling Mill Company for a year, when he accepted a position as chemist for the Keystone Furnace Company, which he filled until 1880. In that year he came to Danville, and, on the organization of the Montour Iron & Steel Company, was made general superintendent, and operated the works for five years. He then resigned his position, having purchased a rolling-mill at Phillipsburg, N. J., but had hardly got it in operation before he was called to his present position. He married, in 1881, Katherine, daughter of W. J. WOODWARD, of Berks County, Penn. Her parents were of English descent, and her father, a Democrat, was elected supreme judge of Pennsylvania in 1874, serving with honor until his death. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 157)

DAVID C. HUNT, manufacturer of light wagons and carriages, Danville, was born in Bedford County, Penn., May 8, 1842, a son of G. W. and Hannah (SMITH) HUNT, the latter a Quaker of English origin. David C. is the eighth in a family of nine sons and three daughters, ten of whom grew to maturity. He was reared in Bedford County, and at the age of twelve years went to Urbana, Ohio, to learn the carriage-maker's trade (which was also his father's business), where he remained five years. In 1860 he came to Danville and, in partnership with his brother, George E. and John H., embarked in the business of manufacturing and repairing carriages. The firm continued thus until 1865, when the partnership was dissolved, and the business continued until 1876 by G. E. HUNT. Since then David C. has conducted the business alone, and has been very successful. His experience, mechanical skill and attention to business have eminently fitted him for his vocation. In 1865 he married Kate GULICK, a daughter of Isaac GULICK. Her parents were among the early settlers of Montour County, and of German origin. Mrs. HUNT bore her husband two children, Horace and Edward, and died in 1873, a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1876 Mr. HUNT married Kate, daughter of William RICHARD, of English origin, and three children have been born to the union: Montgomery, William and Ralph. Mr. HUNT served in the quartermaster's department of the Union army in 1864, and was stationed at Little Rock, Ark. Politically, he is a Democrat. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 157)

JOSEPH HUNTER, collector of bridge toll, Danville, was born in Montour (then Columbia) County, Penn., November 15, 1823, a son of Joseph and Martha (HUNTER) HUNTER, the former a native of Ireland and the latter of Pennsylvania, of Irish origin. The father came to America before he attained his majority, and was employed on public works in Pennsylvania, and also took contracts and built canals and railroads. His early life was passed as a school-teacher; later as a contractor, but finally in the lumber business. His family consisted of ten children, Joseph being the fourth. Our subject was born in this county, but at the age of six years removed to Milton, where he received his education and served an apprenticeship at shoemaking. In 1844 he came to Danville and engaged in the manufacture of boots and shoes until 1851, since which time he has occupied his present position. Politically, he is a Democrat; he has served six terms as burgess of Danville, being elected the first time in 1879. In 1846 he married Mehetabel A. CAMPBELL, a native of Pennsylvania and of Scotch descent. Their children are Henrietta M., Joseph C., James K. and William E., the last named deceased. Mrs. HUNTER died in 1859, and in 1861 our subject married Miss Elizabeth H., daughter of John W. MILES. Mrs. HUNTER is an active worker in the Sabbath-schools of Danville, and she and her husband are members of the First Baptist Church, with which he has been connected since 1845, and in which he has served as deacon for over thirty years. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 158)

JAMES M. IRELAND, of McMahan & Ireland, leading photographers, Danville, was born on the old homestead farm in Turbot township, Northumberland County, September 23, 1847. He is a son of John M. and Amanda M. (McMAHAN) IRELAND, former of Northumberland county, latter of Montour, both members of the Presbyterian Church. Their ancestors, paternal and maternal, were Scotch-Irish Presbyterians, and among the earliest settlers of Pennsylvania. John and Amanda IRELAND had a family of two sons and two daughters, James M. being the eldest. Our subject worked on the farm, attending school until in August, 1864, when he enlisted in Company E, Ninth Pennsylvania Volunteer Cavalry, and served until the close of the war. He was captured at Woodbury, Tenn., and paroled some three weeks later. At the close of the war he returned to Danville, where he has since resided. He married Miss Lucy F. MAXWELL, of Carbondale, Lackawanna Co., Penn., daughter of Robert and Jean (DOUGLAS) MAXWELL, former a merchant at Carbondale. Mr. and Mrs. IRELAND have four children living: Grace L., Robert D., Thomas C. and Helen C. Mr. IRELAND is a member of the G. A. R., Goodrich Post, No. 22. In politics he is a Republican. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 158)

JOHN JACOBS, baker, and wholesale and retail dealer in confectionery, Mill Street, Danville, was born in Germany, September 19, 1836, a son of Henry and Elizabeth (WEBER) JACOBS, who were also natives of Germany, where his father was a farmer. John is the sixth of eight children, was reared on the farm with his parents and was educated in the schools of his native country until his seventeenth year. In 1854 he came to America, first settling at Pottsville, Penn., where he learned to manufacture all kinds of candy, and worked at that business until 1859, when he came to Danville. In 1860 he established his present business, and has succeeded in building up a good trade. He married December 1, 1859, Charlotte, daughter of Frederick and Elizabeth (DIETRICK) FRISCH, natives of Germany. Mr. FRISCH was a pattern-maker by trade, and worked at it in Danville for several years. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. JACOBS: Frederick, Charles, George, Clara, Alfred, Maggie, John and Mary. The parents are members of the Lutheran Church, of which Mr. JACOBS was treasurer of the board of trustees for many years. Politically he is a Democrat, and has been assessor of Danville; is a member of the I. O. O. F., also of the K. of P., a prominent member of the Masonic fraternity and a Sir Knight Templar. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 158)

U. Y. JAMES, dealer in groceries, flour and feed, Danville, was born on Ferry Street of that city, June 3, 1858, a son of Josiah and Jane (MEREDITY) JAMES, natives of Pennsylvania and of English origin. His father came to Danville in 1849, and worked in the ore mines, but subsequently followed the mercantile trade, and now leads a retired life in Danville. Our subject is the youngest of two children, and was reared in Danville, where he attended the public schools. Early in life he commenced to work in his father's store and finding the mercantile trade congenial to his taste, embarked in the present business on Market Street in 1881, and has since been very successful. He is obliging to all, keeps a delivery wagon and attends closely to business. In 1882 he married Minerva, a native of Pennsylvania, of German origin, and the daughter of William JOHNSTON. Mr. and Mrs. JAAMES have one child, May; they attend the Methodist Church. Mr. JAMES is a Republican, an active member of the K. of L. and of the I. O. O. F. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 158)

CAPT. JOSEPH H. JOHNSON, merchant, Danville, was born in Pottsville, Penn., March 18, 1840, the only child of Joseph and Nancy (GEDLING) JOHNSON, natives of Durham, England. The parents were married in their native country in 1839, and on coming to America soon after, settled in Pottsville, Schuylkill County, where the father worked in mines. Subsequently he moved to Philadelphia where he died in 1843. Our subject attended school but nine months in all, and has passed the most of his life in Danville. He commenced to work in the "Rough and Ready Rolling Mill" at Danville, when only ten years old, and followed that business for twenty-four years, filling many positions from boy to superintendent. April 27, 1861, he enlisted in the service of his adopted country, in Company C, Fourteenth Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers, for three months; served his term of enlistment, and the same year re-enlisted, this time in Company H, Ninety-third Pennsylvania Volunteers, and participated in the following battles: Chantilly, Antietam, Mays Heights, Fredericksburg, Salem Heights, Gettysburg, Rappahannock, Mud Run, Williamsburg, Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor, first battle in front of Petersburg, Fort Stephens and Charleston, Va. He was in twenty-four engagements and was present at the surrender of Gen. Lee. He entered as private and returned home as captain, having acted as such the last year of the war. In 1875 he established JOHNSON's green grocery, at which business he is still actively engaged. He is a member of the G. A. R., and of the I. O. O. F., of which he is now Noble Grand, of Calumet Lodge, No. 279, of Danville. In politics he is a Republican. Capt. JOHNSON married in 1886, Elizabeth C., daughter of Urias TILLSON, a native of Massachusetts, of English descent, and by trade a molder. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 161)

WILLIAM C. JOHNSTON, register and recorder, Danville, was born in Columbia County, Penn. (in what is now Derry Township, Montour County) February 14, 1818, a son of Walter (a farmer) and Elizabeth (CRAIG) JOHNSTON, natives of Lancaster County, Penn., and of Scotch-Irish origin, and whose family consisted of four children, of whom William C. is the eldest. Our subject was reared on the farm and attended the common schools of Derry Township, and Danville, also those of Milton and Lewisburg. At the age of sixteen he obtained a certificate to teach school, and followed the profession for twelve years, a part of the time in Danville. He was elected register and recorder of Montour County in 1850, being the first to occupy that position in this county, and has held it ever since. He has also read law, but prefers his present business. He married, October 13, 1857, Amanda BLUE, a daughter of Isaiah BLUE, a farmer. She was of Scotch-Irish descent, died in Danville, April 13, 1886, and is buried in the new Presbyterian burying-ground, loved and respected by all who knew her. To Mr. and Mrs. JOHNSTON were born the following named children: Agnes B., Elizabeth A., Sally C., Samuel and Mary Amanda. The family attend the Presbyterian Church. Mr. JOHNSTON is a Democrat in politics, and served several terms as school director. He was formerly a prominent member of the I. O. O. F., and was Noble Grand of the subordinate lodge. He was among the first members of the Masonic fraternity of the first lodge organized in Danville. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 161)

HARRY KEARNS, tobacco and cigar dealer, Danville, was born in Manchester, England, July 23, 1828, a son of Henry and Sarah (WARD) KEARNS, natives respectively of Ireland and England. The father was an overseer in a woolen factory for many years, but resigned his position, in 1862, to come to America. He settled in Philadelphia, where he died in 1864, at the age of seventy-five years. Henry was reared in England, where he was also educated, and in early life learned the trade of gas-fitting. In 1854 he came to America and worked in Philadelphia at the gas-fitting business for Morrs & Decker, which he has followed in this county for thirty-two years. He has also traveled and worked to a considerable extent in large cities. In 1861 he enlisted at Chicago, Ill., in Battery D, of the First Artillery, and participated in several battles, including Atlanta, where the concussion of the guns caused him to lose his hearing. He served until the close of the war, and, in 1865, returned to Philadelphia. He then went to Ohio, where he engaged in the plumbing business for three years, when he returned to Philadelphia and served for a time as engineer at the Girard House. In 1874 he came to Danville and took charge of the machinery and gas-fitting in the asylum, and remained in charge until 1886, when he resigned. Since then he has been engaged in his present business. He married at Baltimore, Md., Miss Margaret Alice, daughter of John SMITH, a mill owner, of English descent. One child, James W., blessed the union. Mr. KEARNS is a member of the I. O. O. F., of the K. of P., and also of the G. A. R. Mrs. KEARNS is a member of the German Reformed Church. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 161)

SIMON KREBS, senior member of the firm of KREBS & Co., dealers in wines and liquors, Danville, is a native of Germany, born April 10, 1839, to John and Catherine (SCHEIDS) KREBS, also natives of Germany. The father was a farmer, kept a vineyard and manufactured wine; immigrated to America in 1855, settling in Schuylkill County, Penn., where he spent the remainder of his life. He was born in 1809 and died in his seventy-third year. Simon is the youngest of three sons and two daughters, and was reared with his parents on the farm in Germany until he was fifteen years old. He came with his family to America, learned the carpenter's trade, and at the age of nineteen went to California, where he worked at his trade two years. In 1864 he returned to Pennsylvania, and in 1868 came to Danville. He took the contract and built the water-works at Danville in 1872 and 1873 at a cost of $165,000, and it is often said to Mr. KREBS' credit, that the works are first-class in every respect. He is a member of the Democratic party, and takes a lively interest in politics, but has never held office, though frequently a delegate to the county conventions. In 1865 he married Harriet, daughter of Jacob SWARTZ, a prominent merchant at Tamaqua, and of German descent. To the union the following children have been born: Adda L., George J., Clara, Lewis J. and Leah. Mr. and Mrs. KREBS are members of the German Reformed Church. Mr. KREBS is the owner of iron mines in Snyder County, Penn., which he has been working since 1874, and each year has shipped on an average 4,000 tons of ore, which is known as the bird eye ore. Thirty-six men are employed in his mines. (History of Columbia and Montour Counties Pennsylvania, Battle, 1887, Danville, pg. 162)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I'll read the comments and approve them to post as soon as I can! Thanks for stopping by!